johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Hi to anyone that happens by. I'm not checking to see if I'm still listed as a buddy anywhere. I hope you're OK.

I'm writing this because the former web crush just posted a blog for the first time since late June, when she found out she was my web crush. I'll remind you that the sexy photo that I thought was her showed up weeks later at livejasmin, a profile pic of someone claiming to be Ninel from Poland. From time to time I visited the free chat, trying to figure out for sure if it was Katya or not. But I never stayed more than a couple of minutes, partly because I didn't want to read the two-way flirting between her and other guys, and partly because she was boring.

Fast forward to a few minutes ago when she reappeared in my Google Reader. She explained her blog absence with a brain tumor that started bleeding, a coma, surgeries for shunts, etc. Ninel from Poland hasn't been on LJ in a month, so who knows if they're the same person or not. But this was a shocking enough story that I had to share it somewhere.

Remember when my sister was in the hospital last summer for a cardio aversion to get her heart back in rhythm (the drive that killed my knee)? She's since been back in the hospital for another one, and a change of medication. Then she needed another as an out-patient. Now she's found out last week that the medication hasn't worked and her heart is out of rhythm again. We're all getting scared.

I missed Thanksgiving because I'd been (not) sleeping on the floor for weeks, basically not being fully awake at all during the day, dead broke but loading up on bargain Tuna Helper or food pantry food to get me through the day. I gained back twenty of the fifty pounds I'd lost, and was more miserable the other day. The new air mattress showed up Wednesday, so Thursday I slept instead of getting together with family.

I stopped being a pro cycling fan when the Contador positive was announced. I just mentally checked out on the sport. I still followed all the news stories about him, with anonymous lab leaks, "experts" accusing him of all kinds of stuff with no facts, and most of the sport seemingly punishing him for being good. I wavered from day to day based on the news, but top scientists and top labs investigated all of his test info for a couple of months, and they came up with nothing more than a bit of Clenbuterol too small to be of use, and many times smaller than most doping labs could even spot. At this point I believe him, and even though he's in for a few months of legal battles, I think he might avoid a ban and having the Tour de France taken from him.

The only other cycling story I follow is Armstrong. That one should get interesting very soon. They chased down one of his teammates while he was in the US and people in black SUV's with dark tinted windows blocked his vehicle and slapped him with a grand jury subpoena. A week later, Italian police raided his house in Tuscany. A week after that, the top guys from the US investigation, plus an FBI Special Agent and others, spent a couple of days at Interpol in Lyon France. They met with French doping officials, and talked about getting Lance's Tour de France samples, including six they know are positive, to the US. They also met with French police who found illegal syringes and things in 2009, various Italian police, Spanish Civil Guard who they wanted to investigate some things, and a representative from Belgium. Things are supposed to start happening by the end of the year.

X Factor was rubbish this year. I'm kind of rooting for Cher. Matt would be OK if he sang guy songs. I've only seen the leaked 36 minutes of HP so far. I've got just enough gas for a return trip to the theater Monday. I've got a free pass from cereal boxes, and my MVP card will earn me a free soda and popcorn. I'm going to get scrubbed up and feel normal for a couple of hours.

Enjoy the snow. I hope you have an ace Advent Calendar.

6:13 p.m. - Saturday, Nov. 27, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry