johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The one with the really long tongue

I opted for a calm day today, and kept to it until a few minutes ago when I found an exciting news story. It is still fun being more or less the first English only speaker to read a story, a minute after it hit the web in Spain.

A couple of minutes after my last post, I cooked up the last box of mac & cheese, so the (no) IHOP decision was made for the day.


I watched Legendary on Netflix. It's an indie flick about a high school nerd who wants to connect with his estranged older brother by learning to wrestle. It wasn't very good, and I only got minimal inspiration from the training sequences, but I watched the whole thing. I'm open to ideas from anywhere these days.

I got up at three this afternoon so I could watch my Saints play in the football playoffs. It was an emotional roller coaster ride, but they got outplayed in front of tens of thousands of noisy Seattle fans, so they're done.

I did the $5 off 25 deal at the dollar store, opting for nasty canned ham to go with a couple of dozen eggs, milk, sale nuts, and a few kinds of comfort foods to use in emergencies. A box of brownie mix I can bake could save a twenty dollar phone call for pizza.

I tried watching the second NFL game, but didn't care. Netflix told me I wanted to watch X-Men, so I did that. Rogue is a hottie. I thought it was odd that with all the superpowers available, it was the guy with the long tongue who kicked everyone's butt. Twice. I've got a snarky line about the writer but I'm self-editing (for once).

Damn, it's cold out there. And in here, for that matter.

The exciting news story is about the Contador case. I won't revert to boring you with pro cycling talk, but know that the evil UCI and WADA have been talking trash and making threats against the Spanish lawyers deciding Alberto's case. Both have said they're willing to appeal to the International court for the arbitration of sport if they don't like the Spanish verdict. hey would have months to decide whether to do so, and months for CAS to hear it and make a decision.

In a stroke of defiant genius, the lawyers have sent Contador's scientific evidence and studies to both organizations and put them on the clock to decide about a sanction. It's brilliant in many ways. It shuts the two organizations the hell up about delays and possible favoritism. It forces the groups to read the documents and react within a couple of weeks instead of four months from now. The Spanish will make their February 8 decision based on what the two groups decide, so they won't be able to appeal the decision - it was theirs in the first place, and they were forced to rush it. If the decision is for Alberto, it's over, and if not, he can make the immediate decision to take it to CAS. No federation has ever pulled a stunt like this, so it really was inspired.

I'm set up with simple foods, and have no reason to leave the apartment for days unless its to walk. I've been making the yay or nay decision every morning for a few days, waiting for the yay. I hope you're having a great weekend.

11:32 p.m. - Saturday, Jan. 08, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry