johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

calm

Happy Friday to you! Sorry about yesterday.

My sister called uber early this morning because we need to get the simple loan document sorted. I started updating her on the stuff I told you last night, and she called shenanigans before I even got to that conclusion.

My brother e-mailed a couple of pages of an article. I didn't read all of it, but I know I wouldn't get medical documentation saying I can't work now and would not be able to for at least a year - I don't feel that way at all, it was just a bureaucrat filling a slot in a form.

My sister mentioned that someone she knew had gotten help filing from another company, for $750, not $6,000, so having an official tell me I have to contact the expensive one sounds extra sketchy. But enough of that.

I didn't get up until past six this morning, but when I called, there was grocery money on my new card. The snow was a surprise, but the roads seemed alright, so I headed to my first daylight visit to Super Walmart in ages. That went without a hitch. I skipped the pound of real butter I had promised myself, because it was over four dollars! I got a vat of the Blue Bonnet soft stuff for three something.

It's part of my new grocery shopping mentality. The money on that card can only be used for food, nothing cooked, no fast food, etcetera. So this morning, since there was more than enough, I started thinking in terms of buying for up until the end of April. If I saw some massive bargain, I'd stock up. Otherwise big packages are in order.

I still have to get some grapefruit juice to help with blood sugar, and dark chocolate, and some canned salmon on sale because I want to get off tuna for six months to let my mercury levels go down. I've never had it checked, but I was a can a day man for years, and it can affect the brain. I've already got the possibility of mad cow hanging over my head from eating the meat platter at the Black Bull in Edinburgh:-)

Walmart has a nice stock of that cherry preserves - $2.33 a jar every damned day. I haven't tasted it yet, but after a year of hand me down grape jelly, it should be good.

French sports publication L'Equipe started talking trash about transfusions in the Contador case, and invented a scenario, even though there isn't even an approved test. I passed that along to the Fan Club moderator, and the UCI spokesman's response to an Italian publication, just to feel like I'm making a contribution.

Tennis coverage starts Saturday morning, so I'll try to get into it again. Red clay season is around the corner, so there will probably be live feeds somewhere or other for months, if I can get excited about it again.

I'm ready to give walking a go starting Saturday morning, before round 2 of grocery shopping. I also want to get things set up for fencing practice and some other things before my MAF runs out on Monday.

Have a great weekend!

12:43 p.m. - Friday, Mar. 25, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry