johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

count down

Just a quick one before 60 Minutes comes on and I get another burst of adrenaline.

The Giro was epic today. They climbed five serious mountains, finishing in pelting rain. The winner took seven and a half hours. Contador has had an Italian guy I used to like talking trash about him in the press, which is bad because on the climbs fans literally can get their hands on riders. The guy said Contador didn't respect him, although all he did was ride along side him on a climb rather than try to help pull him up. Anyway, Nibali is courageous at sprinting down the steep, curvy roads down from mountains, even when they're wet. He attacked, and Alberto was forced to chase after him, faster than he liked, with others. On the next climb, Alberto attacked uphill to build time, then hurried downhill to try to stay away. The guy came back like a bad rash at the start of the last climb, so Contador was forced to drop him and leave him in his dust. Alberto took in 7000 calories just while on the bike, to keep from bonking.

I had three courts of Frencxh Open available all day, but didn't get into it yet. There was the cycling, then looking for articles, then tracking down a CBS feed for the big show tonight.

That's it. No cycling tomorrow. If they don't turn off my Internet, I'll watch the tennis. The Township Office across the street will get my letter, if the mailman didn't just give it to them Friday after he picked it up. I don't know what will happen, if anything, but it's important that I cared about myself to put up a fight.

I need to lie down and clear my head to get ready for 60 Minutes and the forum chat afterward. Two segments should mean half an hour real time, and there's no news source I trust for investigative reporting than that show.

3:44 p.m. - Sunday, May. 22, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry