johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

please leave my electricity on

The tiny chair was really starting to get to me, so for part of my day, I'm back on what's left of the yard sale couch. It feels comfy by comparison. It's farther away from the monitor now, so it's like watching a small TV, and I don't have the keyboard and mouse with me, so I find a movie or show and settle in to watch without distraction.

Yesterday I watched things on JTV plus Entourage (depressing start to the final season) and In Plain Sight (I'm rolling with the pregnancy & other changes). I also caught up with the new episodes of Warehouse 13, and saw the second and third Musashi Miyamoto films.

I just used some of my free month of Hulu Plus to watch a Zatoichi: The Blind Swordsman film from 1963. Hulu's Criterion Collection has seventeen more, so I guess I'm set.

Yesterday was a better day than today. I felt normal except when I tried to stand or walk. I grabbed a couple of trash bags and cleared up the containers from all the crap I've been eating since the breathing problem started. Ice cream from the one trip to the store, three coffee cake type things, two liter soda bottles, pizza, pasta, cheese sticks, etc.

I guess my activity shut down enough that I managed to gain 20.5 pounds in eight scary, painful days, up to a personal record high.

Based on how I felt yesterday, I was going to attempt a quick in and out at maybe the dollar store today, but I slept in a variety of positions last night, and while they felt comfortable at the time, they made my back worse. Today I'm back to shallower breathing and a cough after not having a problem with either yesterday.

I finally checked my power bill. I owe them a ton of money for the air conditioning that allowed me to breathe this summer. Other years I'd just open the two windows, pop in a fan and take it. This year early on, possibly because the place needs a good scrubbing that I can't do, I had to sit in the direct flow of the conditioned air to breathe. I scheduled a partial payment for Friday, hoping that will keep the electricity turned on. There was a knock at my door yesterday which I didn't respond to, and I was afraid it was about that. A connection between my landlord and the City Hall bugs me.

I guess the dream for today is to buy some groceries with Food Stamps and get them in and put away without stroking out.

I'm also going to make two contacts about possible one time help with my power bill.

I want to turn the A/C off and keep it that way, but I was so miserable sitting there trying to breathe, to keep awake and keep my right eye open while watching the movie.

Fingers crossed for groceries today without publicly humiliating myself in the process.

5:17 a.m. - Tuesday, Jul. 26, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry