johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Allons-y

Happy New Year and stuff.

I don't know when I posted last. Christmas was a non-event for me. My sister Mary e-mailed me at 6:30 P.M. on the 23rd inviting me for Christmas Eve. She said she thought a week earlier we'd be snowed in, and when that wasn't to happen, she was busy with other stuff and my invitation got away from her.

But there was no mention in the three sentence e-mail of my sister Pat, who really wanted to go. I figured she'd get a phone call, so I'd stay quiet until she called me the next morning, knowing if she was invited, she'd offer to pick me up. Not a word. So instead of the non-Christmas I'd expected, I was in the middle of some family drama.

Meanwhile, my sister Ruth was out of state, and I was to go to her place to water her Christmas tree and a couple of indoor plants, but my local weather forecast was for "frozen pellets". Yikes!I got in the car to look around town, then made a mad dash the 15 or 20 miles to get to her place and keep my promise. The flurries got bigger and more plentiful as I headed West. By the time I pulled up, they were moth sized, and were covering the street. I did the watering and rushed home, bypassing the store despite an empty cupboard.

I got home and ignored two quick calls from Mary, because I didn't know what was up. I was e-mailing her an e-mail thanks but the weather is too bad, when Pat called and said Mary was worried about me, as she was expecting a reply of some kind.

So, I was sat here on the 24th, with snow streaming down, my car parked in a safe place and nothing interesting to eat. I was feeling kind of depressed, and stressed out, and a lot of other things.

Pizza Hut in the next town refused to deliver, and did so again when I checked back later upon their instruction. I ended up spending $25 of Christmas money for Papa Johns to supply me for a couple of days.

Later I spent $29.95 more for a membership at LiveJasmin. I'd first visited the free chat there at Christmas two or three or four years ago, and I was kind of nostalgic, even remembering old nicknames like CherryIce, HottyBlondy and HotSindy.

I had buyer's remorse on both purchases the next day, as I could have spent the money on MAF or any number of other things, but I didn't beat myself up over it.

I've been bored to death with no new TV shows. My Facebook status one day was:

"I was really close to earning a Guinness World Record for "Most Bored", but then I got excited about it and they disqualified me. Starting from scratch."

At least I got JustinTV back, thanks to a Firefox add-on called betterjtv. I spend way too much time looking for a decent film that's not too far in, or watching South Park or Big Bang Theory or House. The other day I sat and watched all of Ironman 2 for the first time, and realized how good it really was. I saw an old Horatio Hornblower movie starring Gregory Peck, and that held my attention.

I saw a replay of the Dr. Who Christmas. It got decent near the end, but needed more Amy, and more of the Doctor and Amy together.

I gained back more weight instead of losing some of what I'd regained. I've had no interest in doing any exercise, but daydreamed about having a gym membership again.

For New Year's Eve, I bought myself two tickets for the big Mega Millions drawing and a 24 ounce can of Coors. I sipped that in the evening in the form of toasts, one to Contador for the races before the Tour, one to Kim Clijsters, and to Caroline Wozniacki. One sip was for the red headed Russian girl at LJ who only talks, but kept me entertained in free chat last May. Another was for the hot Spanish woman who was naked and adorable in free chat while I was drinking, although she also got into a lover's quarrel with some regular who'd said he loved her, but was interested in someone else. She seemed sincere, which caught me off guard.

As the beer started to get warm, I started toasting to things in 2011, as if it's within my power to make those things happen.

Today was three hours at Ruth's house with most of my family. For some reason, my hearing was rubbish, and my head might as well have been underwater, and my memory was horrible, giving up trying to come up with movie titles or actors, and forgetting the snowfall I just told you about had ever happened. But the food was tasty.

Today I was disciplined enough to avoid the pro cycling sites that I'm skipping this year. I don't need to argue with people, or fight for what I think is right. I don't need to read quotes from riders I don't respect or believe, or articles by guys I don't trust, or who make me angry. If there were real life, physical places like the cycling forum, say a bar or club where the same guys spoke their piece and insulted each other, I wouldn't even drive in that block. If I click in on the Internet to interact with them when I don't have to, it's just as foolish. The same goes for giving attention to the organizations or people doing things I'm against. I fought the good fight for Contador, first against Lance and character assassination, then against the media and people ready to lynch him this Fall. I've said everything there is to say, and hopefully convinced a few open minded people. Now it's up to the powers that be, and there are no battles left for me.

I saw most of Fighter online last night, and didn't enjoy much. I saw most of True Grit, and wasn't impressed, then saw just enough of the original to know that they should never have attempted a remake.

I'm excited for The Green Hornet, which I expect to be epic, and Sucker Punch, which should be really quirky.

I don't know what to expect this year. I've got one day of MAF left, and am out of cash. I used a lot of it on comfort food to get me through a bleak December. After the way I felt this afternoon, that doesn't bode well. But, I haven't checked my Lotto tickets yet.

2011 is off to the races.

Just heard this during Silence Of the Lambs. I need to enjoy music every single day this year.

11:46 p.m. - Saturday, Jan. 01, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry