johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Living on Australian time

I'm eight hours into the Australian Open tennis. The first round is more of a break-in period than massive excitement. Sharapova played, but I've never been into her. Federer was too dominant to enjoy. Gisela Dulko, a fabulous babe and top doubles player in the world played against Caroline Wozniacki.

Caroline looked so sharp back in the US Open with a tight navy and yellow dress and yellow undies she said matched her bra. Today she looked like someone I wouldn't want to get stuck in line behind in Walmart. She had some kind of really long, pleated white thing on the bottom that looked like a hand me down pulled up high to make do, and a pair of safety cone orange undershorts that were just this blinding orange flash every time she served.

She's #1 in the world, made zillions of dollars, has sponsorships, commercials and fashion shoots, and I felt sorry for her standing around looking awkward. Gisela had this sleek form fitting knit Euro job that had the cameras following her every step between points.

Victoria Azarenka is playing now. I like her when she's not in the midst of losing her temper at someone. If you've ever heard the old Three Stooges where Curly goes woo woo woo woo when he snores, she sounds exactly like that every time she hits the ball. Every blasted time.

I walked Sunday morning. I haven't mentioned that there's something been up with all of my toes lately. I don't feel pain much, but when I'd brush my toe knuckles against something, there'd be an intense burst of pain. Even in bed, just moving them under the blankets hurt. So I had it in my head that I'd best get exercising again at some point. Sunday morning I thought about my feet, thought maybe putting on shoes would be a good idea, looked at the time and five minutes later, I was headed out into the cold dark night. Monday is a holiday, so I figure I'll have about a two hour window after the drunk drivers are safely home and before the "ice pellets" are meant to come down. Hopefully I'll head out, but it's definitely not certain. It would be awesome for me to build up to a decent walking distance by Spring, though.

I'm still trying to escape from pro cycling fandom, but don't see it happening this week. Lance is in Australia for his last big race, and an estimated $2 million appearance fee. The Australian press is touting him as a hero, and actually took it seriously when he spoke out against doping. The race goes for a week, starting tomorrow, and should overlap with a juicy Sports Illustrated story we've been promised for a month. They say his people have fought against it being ublished, and some think he's talking up a knee issue to set up an excuse to bail on the race when the story hits. It should make for good theater, especially since the last four or five days have been a media joke.

Tomorrow (that's actually tonight for me, tomorrow for you, and the day after for Australia) Clijsters, Nadal, Murray, Ivanevic and others have their first round. It should get better every day after that.

We're supposed to have a few days of precip then bitter cold nights again. I hope I'll have both motivation to walk and safe sidewalks to do it on, but again, I'm not counting on anything.

The hot girl was in Californication again, and topless again, but just for a sec.

I'm anxious to have more new episodes of shows, plus the new Sara Shahi one, to watch in between the matches I really want to see.

2:32 a.m. - Monday, Jan. 17, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry