johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The King's Speech

Don't ask how I know, but The King's Speech really is damned good. The dude from POTC did a great job too.

The latest rumor on the Sports Illustrated article we've waited weeks to make print is that a much watered down version will be published, with a lot of "documented and incontrovertible" material left out. Hopefully it will be leaked, but apparently Lance and his media army are still way more powerful than anyone would suspect. And no, that's not an exaggeration.

There's a lot of crap going down in pro cycling just as I try to get away from it. The cycling union is totally out of control, pushing around teams, riders, races, and lying their butts off to cover things up. Floyd Landis, the former teammate who stepped up with all the Armstrong stories, accused them of protecting some stars (from being caught doping) and of trying to control who wins races. Right now they're trying to keep Contador, the guy who won three years ago, and the guy who was third last year, out of the next Tour de France. And Armstrong is being treated like a Messiah in Australia again. It's scary times for serious fans.

I couldn't get into the tennis last night. The people I wanted to watch were totally mismatched. I decided to focus on the Clijsters one, but it was over in 40 minutes. She played great, but her opponent, who used to be really good, had us all feeling sorry for her. Now half the men and half the women have been eliminated, so my evening should be more interesting. The doubles start then too - I love watching some women's doubles, if they play right and don't stay back at the baseline.

I walked again Monday morning, but talked myself out of it this morning. I hope I can still get one in for the day after I sleep, but before the tennis starts. We might have a pile of snow and a deep freeze coming in a couple of days, so I'd like to stay on a roll when the sidewalks are clear.

Pretty Little Liars is turning into an interesting show. House was OK. I was glad to see Amber Tamblyn still in it.

7:37 a.m. - Tuesday, Jan. 18, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry