johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please watch the video

Fun times. At 1:30 this morning I went out for a nice walk in four inches of fresh snow, with more coming down. I enjoyed making footprints, and the whole walk was good until the redneck bar closed and I had to step within a couple of feet of a couple of drunk guys. I was grateful to see that a cop car stopped there as I approached and the policeman was within shouting distance, because these guys were messed up.

I usually never walk until the places is shut down and cleared, but there were no cars parked on my side of the building, and I thought people could find better places to be drunk on a Thursday morning. Still, it was good to get out there, and I did enjoy all but the last block.

I've spent way too much time sharing articles at the bike forum, and writing a few comments on articles by guys who think Lance has a simple steroid case, and is probably innocent. I clued them in that possible charges could include racketeering, drug trafficking, distributing drugs without a license, wire fraud, bribery, perjury and ever so many more.

I've been doing natural comparisons between my life as a pro tennis fan compared to the pro cycling fan lifestyle. It really is a night and day difference. One popular story out of Australia had Lance asking a journalist, "Dude, are you stupid?" for trying to ask questions about the Sports Illustrated story after he'd said no comment.

By contrast, here's the pro tennis version of a confrontation between a star athlete and a problem member of the media, also in Australia. I really want you to click this one. If you're new (welcome, by the way), and don't trust links here yet, you can copy and paste.

Nice one Kim

http://media.theage.com.au/clijsters-big-boobs-jibe-2143061.html

My relationship (against my will, but there are loose threads to be resolved) with pro cycling has me disliking some of the stars, and journalists, and bureaucrats. I don't care about watching races or what the new uniforms and bikes look like. It's kind of like I'm addicted to watching Footballer's Wives but have no interest in watching a match.

I stayed up too late this morning, so I was short on sleep again when I got up just before the tennis. I couldn't get into the matches, so I caught up on some of the regular TV. I'm still behind, which is a good thing.

If you enjoy Seth Rogen movies, The Green Hornet is one. I tend to associate with the alter egos of super heroes that I like, and I couldn't do that here. Nice gadgets, though.

That's my life. We've already got more snow than predicted. I've got three days worth of mac and cheese just in case. The end.


3:06 a.m. - Thursday, Jan. 20, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry