johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The one that's similar to every other one

I get credit for heading out for a walk at 4:30 this morning, onto click intersections and snow covered sidewalks, but I cut it short because I was sucking air from the get go. It didn't seem quite fair, but for now getting dressed and out the door, and wanting to do that, is a positive.

I lost track of my day yesterday. I couldn't fall asleep when I wanted to, but managed to hibernate through both football games.

Californication loses a lot without the cute topless girl, not that the topless girl they had wasn't cute. What can I say, I'm monogamous with hot topless TV show babes, except for Spartacus, but there I deserve them for sitting through the guys and gore.

I realized that yesterday I jumped a level in terms of becoming a serious tennis fan again. For one, I accepted that there are more guys around who play an interesting game - it's not just all power any more. And I can watch women I don't find attractive play, and enjoy it.

But I'd love to see Azarenka/Kirilenko versus Dulko/Pennetta.

I couldn't wake up fully, or focus on tennis last night, so I went to Netflix and watched Saint Ralph again. I used to be a runner, and like watching people run up hills, or through parks, or pretty much anywhere, really. This isn't a great film, and the kid does a lot of stupid stuff, but he was also dedicated, and enlisted every resource available to help him work towards his goal.

Today is a big day in pro cycling. To start with, Lance is done competing outside the United States. The big part for me is that the scientists from the evil UCI are sending their opinion about Alberto Contador's Clenbuterol defense to the Spanish Competition Committee. I said a year ago, in writing, that being a Contador fan was me giving cycling one last chance, and that if he was ever found guilty of doping, I'd walk away from the sport forever. The official decision is still two or three weeks off, but it's still a huge day.

It's 5:27 A.M. my time, and Kim Clijsters just walked on court for her match, the last of the day. Gotta go. Have a great week.

5:32 a.m. - Monday, Jan. 24, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry