johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pretty women and bouncing balls

I made some more adjustments today. I went to bed early enough that I could get a full eight hours sleep and still be up well before the tennis came on. I treated myself to the McDonald's drive-up for the first time in ages - nabbed a McChicken and a Diet Coke.

I was rooting for Schiavone over Wozniacki (didn't want to see her dress again), but she was still kind of worn out from her 4:44 match the other day. She's a funny one - a shortish Italian, with a muscular upper body and a walk like a cowboy. But she can run down everything and make creative shots.

On the tennis babe front, Maria Kirilenko won her doubles with Azarenka, then I found out she was in the Mixed Doubles too. I got to see the end of her match, which she won. The stadium she played in didn't have many spectators, but there were four lovelorn boys making up songs to serenade her during changeovers. Not proper songs - for one they used the tune from the Hokey Pokey and had her forehand going in, etc. She plays both events again tomorrow, so I've got that, the Clijsters match, and Dulko/Pennetta's doubles.

A few days ago I started doing the thing where I squeeze a tennis ball left hand palm down, right hand palm down, left hand supinated, right hand supinated. I've got the ball in front of the monitor, and every so often, I grab it and pop off a hundred each way.

Two days ago I added the chest expander thing to the mix. That's hanging on the Lifecycle so I have to walk past it every time I get up off the couch. Every third or so trip I grab it and do twenty good ones.

Yesterday I asked St. Anthony to help me find my tennis racket. He put the thought into my head to toss aside a couple of big boxes in the extra bedroom, and there it was on the floor under the chair.

I have that and another tennis ball over by the aquarium, and every time I leave the living room, I grab that and bounce the tennis ball in the air a hundred times. It helps loosen the arm muscles, and kind of fine tune them for tennis. I focus on the ball, and my ears and arm can both tell when the ball hits the sweet spot, or is a couple of inches off. I'll get fancier with it once I'm used to doing it again. I'll mix in spins to the left at various speeds, and to the right, and alternating, bounce it a few inches really fast, and alternate heights.

Add in the walking, and I'm working heart, lung, legs, fingers, hands, wrists, forearms, chest/triceps and hand/eye coordination, and I'm barely started.

I'm getting nervous over the Contador thing. The UCI scientists did send their input to the Spanish Federation. One source said they'll probably make their decision at a regular Thursday meeting, and only announce it to Contador. A different news site said they'd decide today or tomorrow. One person suggested he was going to be banned for a year, which is what they do to guys who they believe are innocent, but the stupid WADA rule is if the stuff is in their system, they get punished. It's really messed up.

If they do that to Alberto, they would take away his Tour de France victory, and he'd be out like four million dollars just in salary - he'd probably lose endorsements as well. He would also have to miss the 2011 Tour de France.

I hope the person in the paper is wrong, but if the RFEC says guilty, I keep my promise and forget the sport. I guess I'll pray the Rosary for him before I go to bed.

It got up in the mid 30's yesterday, so the road and sidewalks are all clear. I could wear my fencing shoes to walk, but I don't know if I'll be able to psych myself up for it. Right now my brain is not loving the idea.

I follow six stars from Pretty Little Liars on twitter. It's funny to pick up on their interests and personalities in real life, then to watch the show. It turns out they're pretty good actresses. The show is getting better.

Next up is either the Djokovic match or Gossip Girl. But mostly I just want to go buy ice cream or fresh pastry. Sigh.

3:14 a.m. - Tuesday, Jan. 25, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry