johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

got stuff done

It's been a productive day (it's 11:10 in the morning). I don't know if it was really boredom, or a combination of depression and anxiety, but instead of watching a bunch of tennis, I headed back to bed for four more hours. The good thing is that I was extremely comfortable, and just kept switching sides to be comfortable, my brain still told my body to get up so I could walk.

It also meant that I reached the normal office hours for people who work, without feeling ready to pass out. I paid the past due part of my phone bill, and gave the State the money we decided I owed them. I called the food pantry, and I'm heading there at noon, hoping for something I can eat this time.

I'm desperate for the Food Stamp thing - when I picture being able to walk into Super Walmart and loading up a cart with healthy stuff like I did when I was getting unemployment - it seems like a dream. I tried calling their (Dept of Human Services) 800 number. They don't even have a machine to put you on hold, and tell you how long you need to wait. I just got a message saying that my call is very important to them, but they were busy, so bugger off. I didn't actually write it down word for word, but I did call a bunch of times, so I think I got it right.

I spotted an e-mail address on their website and decided to try that. It's best for me anyway, because I had to explain why I didn't get to the appointment a year ago or whatever, that it was because of the way I was treated when I showed up there after hitting rock bottom a few years ago. Please let this work.

The cycling union didn't keep there promise to the Spanish Cycling Federation about offering a scientific opinion of the Contador case. Tossers. WADA also failed. But the head says they can't make Alberto wait any longer, so they'll give him a decision Thursday. Then he gets ten days of peace and quiet to appeal or submit more documents before it all gets official and public.

I'm pretty stressed out, partly for him, and partly because I have a strong need for justice since the crash, if not before. It's the reason I had to finish two MBA courses on my own. The guy won three Tours de France, plus a Giro d'Italia and a Vuelta a Espana, while at a younger age than Armstrong was when he cheated his way to his first Tour de France. There's no telling just how historic a career he could end up with. And now, because of a stupid Strict Liability rule made by a couple of fools, he might be stripped of a Tour win, kept from racing at least this year, and lose millions of Euros in salary. It's messed up. And there would also be a massive fine to the cycling union - the group that Landis says Armstrong bribed when he tested positive.

On to the bright side, which is tennis. Tonight my time Clijsters and Wozniacki play their individual semi-finals. Still to come are the final, Kirolenko in the Ladies Doubles Final, the Mixed Semis, and hopefully the Mixed Final. Hopefully in her rose colored shorts.

Time to get dressed for a dollar store run and the food pantry pick-up. Maybe I'll relax enough to get some sleep this afternoon before the tennis.

11:34 a.m. - Wednesday, Jan. 26, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry