johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whoa, sunshine

I'm kind of sort of back on American time. I was up last night, but bored, and not feeling great, so I couldn't be bothered to watch the Mixed Doubles Final. I headed to bed, woke up before the Men's Final, and didn't care enough to get up. I stayed there until past four, then saw most of the third set, mostly as an excuse to not walk.

I realized last night that I'd managed to gain nine pounds in a four day spree of BOGO Blizzards, pizza, pastry, ice cream, etc. It was enough to make some things really uncomfortable, so I was pretty bummed, and the bed only had to whisper for me to answer the call.

We've got a storm of ice plus up to a foot of snow moving in, so I thought I'd best be prepared this time. I had thirteen dollars left in my checking, but almost no gas, so I headed to the local grocery for the first time this year. It took two trips, as they've just cut three hours off of their store hours.

They used to be obsessed with keeping their shelves fully stocked. Today there were big gaps of missing items, including sale ones, and some other things were only a few deep. I'd had a can of no name chili for breakfast (food pantry, used up the last of the instant mashed potatoes, pancake mix, and turkey last night), and decided to include four cans of that to get me through the next days. The sale shelf was empty, and they wanted $2.50 for a brand I'd never heard of. I looked at a few other prices, and they were forty to sixty percent higher that the dollar store two blocks u the road. They're not going to win that way.

My car is in a safe spot, so I might just settle in and enjoy my last four days of Netflix online. I've already got my next tennis viewing planned. There's something called Federation Cup going next weekend, where it's female players going country versus country. It's the kind of thing a serious fan would watch, so count me in, rooting for the wrong country.

There's nothing new on the Contador front. I follow his lawyer on twitter, so I know that he was in his office last night and again today, working on the case.

The Sports Illustrated reporters said that if the Feds are going to charge Lance, it would probably be just before or after the Super Bowl, so things could be close. I'm a lot less into it since I'm not hanging out in the cycling forum, but the story will be interesting enough if it hits. So many people here think it's just another "steroids" story. But this one is a hundred times bigger than Tiger Woods.

Oh! I had a BOGO coupon for Minute Maid Orange Juice. Regular price at this store was an awful $3.99, but I have two cartons of real orange juice in the house!

I haven't mentioned it, but for the past week or so, I've been waking up with a totally numb hand every morning. It varies based on which side I'm sleeping on. I literally have to grab it with the other hand and shake it to get it going. Fun times.

I'm off (actually, not moving an inch) to watch a French film about a pair who are paid to break up marriages but meet the perfect couple.

9:28 a.m. - Sunday, Jan. 30, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry