johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The one where I was asleep the whole time but pretend things happened

A day later, and I can't remember how many times I've slept since that last post. I was bored and sore in the morning, so I headed to bed. Once there, I couldn't come up with a reason to get up, even though I hadn't turned on the space heater, and I was freezing. Even with waking up to curse the chill and roll over, I still managed a feature length dream where I was in hectic training for some elite police force. I think it may have been based loosely on G.I. Jane, which I watched a couple of weeks ago. There was one scene where we had to grab a bite of food on the run, and I grabbed a slice of pie from under a floor mat. As you would.

At some point, Nature called, and I holla'd back, girl. I turned on the heater to pre-warm the bedroom for round two, checked the Contador news, watched Californication (crude, but with cute topless women and one of the best acting monkies ever), enjoyed a glorious glass of orange juice, then headed back for the duration. But there may have been another sleep segment in there somewhere.

My sister was heading out before the storm, and when I told her about the grocery run yesterday, she offered to bring me some cans of chili. It worked out okay, because Walmart was sold out of emergency lanterns, so I suggested we make a quick run to Ace Hardware so I could get her one.

I'm now stocked up on food, including more pancake mix, with a four day storm just starting. We're in for a day of freezing rain and sleet, with maybe a foot of snow after that and then things go down into the deep freeze. My part of the country has been pretty spoiled this whole season compared to pretty much everywhere else. The big concern is that freezing rain makes old tree limbs so heavy that they break off and land on power lines. Heavy limbs and 40 MPH gusts could make things miserable in a hurry.

I've been avoiding normal cycling news, but I spent a long time this morning reading an interview a guy named Kimmage had with Floyd Landis. It was basically questions and answers for seven hours (on their part). The guy is interesting to read - he gives long, thoughtful answers over and over.

The most interesting parts for me were how corrupt WADA, the UCI, and one of the American associations is. Then there was information about a rider I thought was clean, and the head of a cycling team that claims to be at the forefront of anti-doping but can't be trusted. The fact that I was able to read it all the way I would a novel, without getting angry, meant a lot.

I believe that Contador is innocent. At least I believe that the tiny speck of stuff in his system wasn't intentional, and that it had nothing to do with his Tour de France win. I'm also quite aware of how the UCI and WADA have made major breeches of conduct in the case. But it's still a lot like in Peter Pan when Tinkerbell is fading, and you're supposed to clap if you believe. Some days I'm higher up on the applause meter than others, but I've watched how the story has played out in the media for months, and there's some seriously sketchy behavior behind the scenes of people trying to take him out of the sport. Conspiracy theories aren't my first inclination, but the basic facts haven't changed since August 24, and the attitude of some members of the Powers That Be has changed immensely.

I'm bored to death, but can't get more than five minutes into any movies. My back always hurts when I'm sat here now, so bed in a warm room is a pretty attractive prospect. I don't want to sink back into Justin TV with it's partial movies and antisocial chat. We'll see.

If I'm gone for a bit, chalk it up to power outage, Internet outage or hibernation. Ta.

12:37 p.m. - Monday, Jan. 31, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry