johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

quiet nights

My brother-in-law has diabetic retinopathy - bleeding in the retina and vitreous fluid. He's to rest for two weeks, with the hope that the blood will leave the fluid and absorb into his body. If that happens, the doctor can use a laser to cauterize the spot and save most of his vision.

In that last, stressed - out e-mail from my sister, she spilled on the health problems he's had this year. The poor guy has really been through the ringer. I've been prating, as promised, but also wishing my lottery ticket would come good so I could drive over and tell them not to worry about jobs or medical bills, and to get the best doctors they can find.

There were no new TV episodes last night, which makes for a reeeeally long stretch of me scrounging for entertainment. I finally saw all of Silence Of the Lambs on JTV. I watched and/or listened to The Three Amigos.

I just got up, and haven't checked the mail yet. I think I'll play hard to get and skip it until tomorrow (it's a big one with a lock). I get a tad more depressed every day the food stamp people don't respond. It was in October when I last got my hopes up and applied online, and this year there was the e-mail, and then the snail mail. They don't even have a "hold" option on their phones.

The good news is that Vitacost has gotten really good at shipping. My supplements have already made it across one state. When they arrive, the plan is to give myself one good week with FRS Plus along with the MAF and Sam-e, to push to get a ton of stuff done, including moving furniture and organizing, tossing tons of stuff int the dumpster, and getting the landlord to have someone put in a new water heater.

That's it for my life right now. Contador is in a three day race, but it's not televised, so it's more like a postcard than a vicarious vacation.

Tonight's another night with no TV shows. Spartacus is over, and Fringe isn't on. Maybe I'll cranks some tunes once I have the building to myself, and boil some water for dishes.

4:49 p.m. - Friday, Mar. 04, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry