johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Things are happening

I'm up to 72 hours on Sam-e. I chuckled a couple of times during Justified last night, at subtle humor.

Sleep didn't go quite as well, as the MAF has my brain getting more active. At one point in a dream, I stabbed a guy twice in the heart, slasher style - that's definitely not the way my dreams normally roll. I guess I'd best switch to lighter TV shows for a while, if there are ever new episodes.

There's something serious going on in my head right now. It started maybe twenty minutes ago. I'm headed to bed in a bit. It's like my mind is racing a mile a minute without actually having any thoughts - I can just feel it whirring around. But I've been up for ages, watched more CNN, Justified, Blood Brothers, Fringe, Women's Biathlon (Magdalena won), cycling in Italy and cycling in France.

I also set up some new, tough passwords, cooked a few times, and discussed Japan with my sister. I walked at 4:35 this morning.

I felt a bit of a sense of accomplishment. Contador had said in a Spanish interview that he was fighting to get a minimum threshold for Clenbuterol to help a lot of innocent athletes who wouldn't have the resources to protect themselves. He had a line similar to what I've said at forums and in article comments, that if samples from countries where Clenbuterol is widely used for cattle were run through the advanced lab in Cologne, there would be tons of positives. But as other sites cherry picked the original interview, some posted the line about Mexico and Argentina out of context. He was talking about innocent athletes eating beef, but some thought he was calling their athletes dopers that get away from it. I left comments at two articles, and sent one journalist an e-mail, but I also gave one of my off the record, heads up notes at Contador's website Fan Club. I saw a few hours ago that his representative had made the effort to clarify the info for the story. It might have happened without me, but I've given them so much info, and seen so many of my original ideas repeated in the press, that I'm motivated to keep trying to help. Mostly I'm just a good communicator, as in getting info into the right hands.

Last October a button broke off of my super fancy heart rate monitor wrist unit. It was the stop button, so the thing was pretty useless, and without all the heart zones and things, I wasn't motivated to walk after sleeping on the leaky mattress at night. I never did get started again.

I'm thinking in terms of maybe getting a bit of cash next week, and what small things could help make my life better. I also had a recent newsletter from Polar reminding me they have a customer service guy on twitter, and I posted my walk this morning in the spreadsheet with the charts.

Put it all together, with the supplements and some caffeine, and you get me tweeting the customer service guy asking if it could be repaired. I told him the button had always stuck, which was true (and annoying) and had now broken off. He tweeted right back with an e-mail address, and told me to send the color, serial number and my address. He finished with a smilie face.

I got the idea that I might be getting a free replacement for something that was six years old and now goes for $160 with the chest strap included. Stay tuned. I've always been a loyal Polar user, but this would definitely reinforce that if it happens.

Coverage of that tennis tourney is finally about to start, but I need to sleep. I can watch the night session when I get up.

12:36 p.m. - Saturday, Mar. 12, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry