johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

earthquake

Let's get the meme's out of the way first.

I've been on Sam-e less than 48 hours. I mentioned that I grinned once during Justified the other night. To that you can add a chuckle during The Big Bang Theory last night, before CNN took over my life.I'm also less frustrated by things, and stuff like pro cycling drama doesn't get me worked up - at least not the mild stuff going on just now.

Just so you know, I used to be the funniest person I knew. For real.

I don't know what gets the credit, but my sense of timing is back. Yesterday I considered postponing my trip to the food pantry until next Tuesday. I'm not sure when I checked the mail, but I decided I had to make the appointment yesterday, because if I get involved with Food Stamps I won't diminish the supply of charity food.

That worked, because I got the food stamp application in the mail, and planned to submit it today. I made a big payment on the power bill to get the checking balance down, like I said. It occurred to me last night that getting that in the mail Saturday would get it to the office just as quickly as today, as there's no way they're working Saturdays. But I forced down some FRS Plus, and got the forms done and out for the mailman. It felt good. I had the bit of cash to use up, so I got milk and eggs and grape juice, a couple of lottery tickets, and four bucks (a bit over a gallon) of gas as a cushion for my drive to the food stamp appointment.

I heard the mailman grab my envelope out of the box, so I went out, kind of knowing there would be something from the Township. I'd made a note on the FS application that I had applied there and not heard anything yet. Sure enough, there was a letter asking me to show up Monday at 1:00, with proof of my rent payments and utility bills. I've got 74 more hours on the supplements to get me ready for that, and it's just across the street, so there's zero drama or stress.

I was still thinking about fencing last night. I spotted my other Maestro Evangelista book, the technical one, and started refreshing my memory there.

I also took out four bags of trash, and started planning the first steps of getting the place ready for the landlord and plumber. I'll put a note in the mail to him after I get a food stamp appointment, unless there's a delay. But I want to get the work done while I have FRS Plus providing energy, to make sure it happens.

Someone I follow on twitter mentioned the Japanese earthquake about an hour after it happened. I found a CNN feed and watched for six hours straight. Those poor people. I'd never seen an aerial view of a tsunami before, and to see one hit the shore, then move along into farmland, and to see vehicles moving in the path, was heartbreaking. The fifth worst earthquake since they started measuring, aftershocks, tsunamis, nuclear power plant scares, and all the after effects makes for a devastating day.

I need to go watch again. Enjoy your life today, and be good to people.

11:02 a.m. - Friday, Mar. 11, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry