johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ouch, my jaw!

The week isn't off to a brilliant start. Most of one back tooth has been gone for a long time, and the gum has grown over bits that are left. I usually just work around it, but something new must have happened overnight, because it hurts like hell. I'll pop some Alleve and chew on the other side.

The lack of a mattress for my bottom half is still killing my back, with a disc trying to escape above my right hip.

Instead of getting my heart monitor in the mail today, I got an invoice. I clicked through early screens of their online bill pay, and it doesn't show that the repair charge has been covered. I once again e-mailed the guy telling him to throw the damned watch away so I stop getting my hopes up and instead get reminders that I can't pay my own way through life right now.

I really miss Sam-e right now, but did surprise myself by laughing at a comment someone made in a JTV chat during Warrior's Way last night. It's been years since I laughed without being on something for depression. I'm still depressed, though.

Before the movie, I was watching an Amazing Race feed< out of Canada, and someone in chat said that such and such a guy was a c@#%. Someone quickly responded with "you must be from the UK". So even though you'll not see me cuss here, I thought that as someone who has spent time in both countries, and has watched BBUK with chat, and other British shows with chat, I'd make an observation about the language.

#1 A lot of people in America who might toss the F bomb around would never use the C word, which is as crude as things get here.

#2 Guys are never ever referred to by the C word. Ever. That's how the person in chat knew where the other person lived.

#3 Women are never ever referred to as the P word. It's physically and figuratively a guy thing.

#4 The words are used WAY less here in polite society, and especially on network TV. Before they go live to the Big Brother UK house, they remind the housemates not to swear, because they would otherwise, and some slip up anyway. On the American show it wouldn't happen, and if it did, the show would be on a seven second delay so it could be bleeped.

#5 I never once heard my Mom or any of my three older sisters curse, and in the once or twice they've heard me do it, they know that it was meat to drive home a strong point.

#6 None of that was meant as anything more than a cultural observation gleaned from hours and hours of reality TV and chat. But someone who was used to watching Kitchen Nightmares in the U.S. would be shocked and amazed at how very much of the conversation in the UK version is cursing.

I saw a version of Source Code online. I don't know if it was good or not, but it kept me willing to watch a bit more to see what happened, and I made it all the way through, so that was something.

I'm glad to see new episodes of TV shows popping up again, but the next thing I look forward to is the bike racing Wednesday, now that I know there's live video coverage.

11:17 a.m. - Monday, Apr. 11, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry