johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

They're not sucking me in again

Sunday Funday.

I was up overnight again. I had seven windows open in Chrome for cycling news I could share with my twitter followers. My back was hurting, so I decided to lie down for 45 minutes before cycling feeds started. The alarm went off, and I did a quick assessment. The Spanish race had a flat finishing stage, so Contador wasn't going to do anything to improve his position. I can still enjoy scenery, and learn things from announcers, but not if they don't speak English. There was no reason for me to watch.

There was also a big one day "classic", featuring some guys I don't respect (massive arrogance & lies). I decided I didn't care who won that either. My overall thought was, "I'm not going to let them suck me in again," with pro cycling being "them". If Contador gets sanctioned, I'm done with the sport forever anyway, so it's silly undoing the steps I've taken to distance myself from much of the sport. The three week Giro d'Italia, a tough, beautiful race, starts in twenty days. That's enough. I don't need to become the breaking news guy for the sport. I'm just supporting Contador and his fans.

My second favorite rider has spent a lot of time training at Mt. Etna, which along with having steep climbs and altitude, has replaced Tenerife as a place for doping because all eyes are on Tenerife. I hope he guy I like is clean, but with the "storm of cycling" brewing in Italy, I'll stay neutral.

I've got no mental energy right now, but I'm trying to think of positive changes. I'd been to the local park once years ago, and saw a sign at the entrance with a daily fee, lots of rules and things. I looked it up on the web last night, and saw that it's free for people in the Park District. I've sent an e-0mail to verify that I qualify. I miss having a place where I can walk on grass, sit outside, get some sun and fresh air every day. This might be the place, for now.

After watering my sister's plants Friday, I stopped at a bakery on the way home. As I approached, through the window I thought I caught a glimpse of an old friend from my home town checking out. I didn't take a close look, because I didn't want to know. I got in the door behind him, and went to the other side of the room and focused on the baked goods on the table. With my peripheral vision, I could tell that the guy hesitated near the door, looking my direction. I focused on the gooey butter cake until he left.

I got a confirmation e-mail complete with tracking info for my new shoes, so I'll have hem Wednesday. I'm excited. Ordering the bigger size in an unknown shoe is a gamble, but as long as my heel doesn't move, it will be a massive improvement over anything I've worn the past four years.

I had watering duties again today. It was sunny and in the sixties out, which made for a nice drive with the windows down.

I'm looking forward to days with thirty minute walks and twenty minutes of sunshine.

4:40 p.m. - Sunday, Apr. 17, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry