johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Shoes, laundry day

Still trying to turn my life around. I walked in my new shoes this morning. The same route I've been doing went ten percent slower, and I could feel my hips on every step. My body is definitely not used to proper alignment and cushioning and support. My left heel was sliding up and down, the way it does in proper shoes, so it needed some TLC when I got home. Since I anticipate longer, hillier walks in the future, I put on my night splint when I went to bed to try to stop the problem early.

It was a watering day today. The car still hasn't been towed from my parking spot, and mine was well up the street, so I just took the one bag of dirty clothes along. I have to overcome the feeling that I need to get to my sister's, water plants and get the heck back home, so I worked on that today. I loaded up the washer, watered the plants, then settled onto the full sized, unbroken couch and turned on the 42 inch TV. As my clothes went through the sixteen minute heavy duty wash cycle complete with two rinse cycles, I watched some of the local news, and a bit of Ellen, occasionally looking out the three windows to see lawns and plants. When the clothes were done, I stayed on the couch until the Reese Witherspoon interview was over, then brought the wet clothes home to dry on hangers next to the dehumidifier. When the weather gets hot again, I'll have my cut-off jeans to wear. I'm looking forward to washing more on Saturday, and possibly Monday. It's nice to have the stuff on hangers instead of draped across the living room furniture.

There are bits and pieces of Lance news trickling in every few days, as part of a big International doping investigation centering around Lance's old training doctor, Dr. Ferrari. From the American side, they've got forensic accountants looking at fraud, money laundering and tax evasion. Lance probably found out about the investigation a bit over a year ago, with the breaking news on the Wall Street Journal coming in May. But he wouldn't have known that Swiss police have been watching Ferrari for a couple of years, so if he transferred millions of dollars over multiple transactions, someone was watching on the other side. It's going to be a fun story when it all goes public. People might even buy newspapers again for a while. Cycling fans get the additional side show of up to thirty current riders possibly being busted, plus the doping channels. For instance, you read about guys using EPO, but where does it come from? Maybe someone stole a pallet or a truckload as it was being shipped. But you also have people in hospitals giving diluted doses to patients and putting the rest aside to sell.

I looked at Game Of Thrones IMDB page for something, and noticed that the favorite character I thought had been killed at the end of the episode appears in the entire first season. Hurrah! I'm a bit concerned that they'll have trouble getting the hot blond naked again, as her "husband" is a brute, and she's away from her pervy brother.

4:10 p.m. - Thursday, Apr. 21, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry