johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cheers, Pippa

I snapped a screen print of feeding time at the hummingbird nest.

http://www.ustream.tv/hummingbirdnestcam

I've now walked twelve out of thirteen days. My total for this week will be less than week one, and the effort and numbers this morning were pretty much like day one, so I need to keep plugging away and trust improvement will come. Mentally I didn't want to go out today, even after an unplanned rest day, but that might be because my half an air mattress died yesterday afternoon.

There was a flaw in my shopping yesterday. Apparently some of that model glucose monitor come with 25 free test strips, but mine didn't.

*******************************
I stopped there because I remembered I had to call their Customer Service about a failed attempt with the two test monitor. The nice lady is sending me the 25 strips via UPS.
*********************************

Anyway, I was able to get the A1C test to work. It looks at the big picture of the past two or three months. I posted a 6.4, which is cool if I am diabetic, but one organization has that as the highest score in the pre-diabetic range. It was a good result for me, because it means it's not too late for me to do something, but I'm right there on the precipice. They're sending me a replacement kit for the failed attempt, so I'll exercise and try to eat super clean for two months, then test again, and hopefully be totally out of the woods two months after that. Knowledge is power.

I registered the one meter, hoping to get free test strips for my reward, but they were out of that option, so I settled for a bottle of lotion I'm going to use on the skin problem on my shins. I'm serious about turning all this stuff around, even though my brain doesn't have much energy.

That Pippa story sure caught fire. The woman looked hot in a dress on a day when she knew two billion people would see her, and based solely on that, some people said that William married the wrong one, and that Harry should snap her up? Because she looked good in a dress? Yikes.

Personally, I was over her by the time the pictures of her in the green dress posted. But imagine what you would do if you knew that on a certain date in the future, the eyes of the world would be on you. How many lunges and step-ups and crunches would you do?

I'm figuring out what to do about the mattress before it totally kills my back. Since I can get by on half of one, I might grab a $12 one or something in a different brand and hope it will let me sleep for a month. I've got to protect my cash. But the double ones have gone back to the normal price again, so I could go king-sized. I haven't had time to think since I just found out I don't need to buy test strips.

I'm so psyched for my grocery shopping trip to Walmart on Tuesday. I think I can go two months without the treats like cookie dough or whatever, if I know that I'm fending off diabetes, and that I'll be able to see any progress with the monitors. I'm really grateful for everything about those coupons and monitors.

The Giro d'Italia is a week away, and the Tour de France is in nine weeks. Team Saxo Bank Sungard just announced they're sending another top rider to help Contador. There will be three weeks of epic stages. There's one new, steep climb in the middle of a stage, then the descent is so scary, with curves and precipices, that Alberto hopes they'll put up those ski nets to keep people from flying off the side of the mountain.

At the same time that is going on, his lawyers will be submitting reports and arguments and things to CAS. There's a chance it will be settled before the Tour starts on my birthday, with me either out of the sport for good, or him trying for a 4th Tour de France win as a free man. The French Open is in there too, so I feel like I can give myself that same time frame to reach some fitness goals and get the blood sugar numbers down.

I did watch all the RW coverage up to the flyover, but with no TV or papers or magazines or radio listening, I had way much wedding bombardment than you probably did. I was actually ready for dessert this morning, when I saw the film Kate & William was posted. I liked the buildings and things, and the Kate character, a lot. Later I saw video of the actress on a talk show, and that killed it for me.

Camelot was on last night, and totally tame. I could depend on Spartacus episodes to get my testosterone levels up, but this just doesn't do it. Thank goodness for Game Of Thrones Sunday.

Have a great weekend.

10:14 a.m. - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry