johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A slightly different world today

It looks like today will be a big CNN day, as details are pouring in. I got kind of comfortable last night on a modified bed, so I stayed there past eleven. I think it was Twitter where I learned of bin Laden. I'll change subjects there.

I spent time researching foods and supplements to fend off pre-diabetes, in preparation for my Tuesday (I get Food Stamps on the 3rd of the month) grocery shopping extravaganza.

One big thing I read was the reminder of how much good thirty minutes a day of quality exercise can do. I need to work on that. My right leg has been killing me every time I stand up, for no reason I know of, and even hurt some of the time when I was in bed, but I still went out and walked this morning, increasing my distance. This week I'll repeat what I did today. Next week I'll add two blocks so I'm across the street from the college, the week after that will be a proper school lap, then that plus two blocks the other direction, that plus four blocks, then an additional lap of the triangle on campus for additional uphill, then a second repeat, and that should be enough for a regular daily walk. Actually, if I can reach that point by the ninth week, and get the Lifecycle going as well, it will be a damned impressive turnaround. I'll fight for it.

I love Game Of Thrones, and wish each episode was three hours long so I could spend more time with the characters. There were two scenes of sword practice with bashing and kicking and things, which was fine. But there's a girl named Arya who has a warrior's heart. Last episode her brother had a special sword made for her as a gift, before he had to leave. This episode her dad found out about the sword, but doesn't know where she got it. The next day, she walked out and there was a sword master with two wooden wasters, ready to teach her. Here's a photo.

And a link for the episode, if you want to check it out. I'm going to watch it again.

http://www.putlocker.com/file/8575DB62CC372709#

I've got stuff I want to get done before Saturday so I can enjoy the Giro d'Italia with a clear conscience.

I need to put things together and make copies so I can get $34 in 2009 taxes back from the State of Missouri. I can put that money to good use.

I'm going to type up a letter to be sent to the supervisor of the township lady who turned me down. I'll let it up to them if I appeal or not, but I could do a lot with that extra money at a time I'm trying to put life back together, and fend off diabetes.

I need to write three organizations about my student loans, so they'll stop calling, and I can turn my answering machine on again.

Have a great week.

6:39 a.m. - Monday, May. 02, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry