johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Quicky

Just a quick one today, as there have only been two events in my life. One was that I fired up Netflix and watched most of a SWEDISH sword fighting move called Arn: The Knight Templar. It was originally a TV miniseries but they clipped bits amounting to half of it and made it a film. I'm really excited to see scenes of swordsman fighting or practicing, as I'm psyching myself up to write, especially if they start limiting my broadband.

When I got up a bit past midnight, I charged my new glucose meter, sorted it all out, and did my first test. I scored a 124 after "fasting", so like the other type of reading the other day, I'm uber high pre-diabetic but haven't fallen over the cliff. I've got 23 free strips left, so maybe I'll try it once a week, with an odd test or two when I feel like dozing off during the "day", as happened when I was scraping by on mac & cheese and things the back half of last month.

A year ago Floyd Landis came out with all the stuff about Lance. He also said things like Lance had bribed the UCI after a positive doping test, and later said the UCI was corrupt and protected certain riders and stuff. It was a big surprise yesterday when the UCI and their current & former leader filed a lawsuit against him. It was partly a surprise because he has no assets. Anyway, he just made a strong reply. He said that a year ago he made a deal so that a lot of other riders could come forth and tell the truth about the Lance days without legal repercussions. Today he said that he knows that a lot of guys took advantage of that to clear their consciences. Now, he says, the lawsuit forces him to depose those guys and make what they say public. Fun times.

That's it. 48 hours to the Giro.

8:19 a.m. - Thursday, May. 05, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry