johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

double dose of volcano

I'm doing OK. The pile of things I sleep on sans mattress are narrow enough that I have to wake up every twenty minutes to change position, but at least I'm breathing the whole time. The bad thing is I've been staying up too late and so staying in bed past dawn, or at least near it.

Chrome Angry Birds has taken over my life. There are screens that take me a hundred tries, but I just keep giving it "one more".

I've got Eurovision on right now, after seeing bits of it the other day. Watching my old buds Jedward "perform" lipstick, and singing even while in full cartwheel, gave me a clue as to the level of national talent I'm seeing. Sting, no, U2 no, The Corrs no, Jedward, got it. My favorite so far were one of the many sets of twins, and the unicyclist from Moldova(sp).

It's still not my cup of Diet Mountain Dew.

Today was a fun day. Camelot made up for the dearth of bare bosoms in recent episodes. In HD big screen TV, it must have been an extravaganza. On a nineteen inch monitor in 240 p, it was more about knowing the dancers were flashing things than actually seeing them with my own eyes. I mean, I couldn't identify any of them in a police inquiry.

Contador surprised everyone, including his teammates, by attacking at the end of a flat stage the day before they climb a volcano twice. It was exciting and beautiful. Video below. The top guys who have been hinting to the press that Alberto looks weak were just stopped in their tracks watching.

So yeah, there are many great stages yet to come, but if you only watch an hour or two of cycling all year, I recommend Sunday. For one thing, it's the ninth day in a row, before the rest day, so some guys could be worn out. More importantly, it's in Sicily. You get to see a hundred miles of it either 25 MPH by moto camera or by helicopter views of the best stuff. Then there's Mt. Etna, the volcano, which got so excited about the race that it erupted the other night. About the time the TV coverage kicks in, they'll be climbing 1600+ meters up Mt. Etna one way, and after amazing, high speed descents, they'll climb it another way and finish almost 1900 meters up.

Nibali is from Sicily, and he's spent a bunch of time practicing the climbs for this. Another Italian, Scarponi, has also practiced there, and is in peak form right now. Contador hasn't been there before, and is still racing himself into shape. There should be top racing to go along with the scenery. You can find a feed at fromsport.com.

I'm starting to have my annual revelation that I live in a basement with two windows that haven't been open yet, and it's been hot lately. I think there's probably mildew and stuff about,and it would be part of my breathing problem. When the rain stops, I'll move my window fan into the living room and circulate some air, and at the first of the month I'll buy a cheap box fan for the white noise and breeze in my bedroom.

Oh, that chick from Azerbaijan is fit!


3:30 p.m. - Saturday, May. 14, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry