johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

disconnect

It was a rest day for the Giro today, which meant I could stay in bed. I did so, apparently for about twelve hours. Near the end I slept in long enough bouts to have dreams, like the one where I had to help the two girls who had some car place force them to drag race, and they were caught by police.

I never open mail from my phone/DSL company, but did this morning in case it was a warning about their new web use cap. Instead, it was a Disconnection Notice for next Monday if I don't pay them the $75 I still owe.

I had a rough hour, and an unpleasant phone conversation with someone with no empathy. I said I wanted to cancel my phone service, but hung up as I was being transferred. Later, I realized that they've probably sent similar notices in the past, but I didn't open them, as I do everything online. They e-mail me the bill. They e-mail me a reminder to pay the bill. When they e-mail me that I'll be getting an important notice in the mail in the next few days, I pay the past due bit with my fresh money for the month.

I still have it hanging over my head, in case they changed something, but will use info from the phone call in my appeal to the Township people, which has a Thursday deadline.

I just watched Game Of Thrones, and was disappointed for the first time. The Facebook zealots who have read and reread the series seem to have loved it, but I'm allowed to judge it as a TV show. There was some Spartacus-like gruesomeness. The hot blond wasn't in it at all, except that people want to kill her and her unborn baby. There were ten long minutes consisting of one guy shaving the chest and armpits of another, while trying to convince him he should be king. Seven nations of action, and ten minutes devoted to manscaping, and the sucking noises that followed? It's fine that they do it, but I really don't need to waste ten minutes of my life watching. Geez, I stopped watching Glee months ago, because a few minutes of Lea Michele & Diana Agron just wasn't worth it.

My life is out of sync because the Google News "any language" search is still MIA. I'm used to clicking refresh and seeing every Contador article that's hit the web, or I could check for Clenbuterol news out of China, or Armstrong, or whatever. Now the only way for me to read Chinese articles is to let them turn all of my Google stuff into Chinese, and then I can't even find the places to click. After two years of at least seeing every headline, there's tons of stuff I'm missing, right when it's the most fun.

Forget any big talk about eating to beat diabetes. Last week I had a Tombstone pizza (3 for $10)three days in a row. I don't recall why I needed ice cream on Friday, but I used a BOGO Dairy Queen coupon then, Saturday and Sunday. I still have Food Stamp money left, but I'm once again eating up on dollar boxes of Tuna Helper. At first it was part of a master plan, but then I forgot the plan. Sigh. The dollar store has one of their $5 off $25 deals on Saturday, so I'll spend my last forty bucks on cheap groceries to last me until the third.

Sorry, got distracted and ran out of stuff to say. Your lucky day!

4:00 p.m. - Monday, May. 16, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry