johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

give me a brake

Fun times in the cycling world, but I won't bug you with that.

Yesterday evening I rushed to get to the dollar store before they closed, only to look down and see my brake warning light still on. Not. Good. I got safely back home, while continuing in my head to write the letter to the Township people. I was pretty stressed out, and depressed knowing my car could be grounded again. Right now my big hope is that the brake fluid is low, and not because of a leak. I'm not going anywhere until Saturday's $5 off 25 deal at the dollar store, because I can get the brake fluid there, and their register computes 20% off each individual item, so I'll pay less for it in cash.

I've had issues with The Biggest Loser this season, mostly because of numerous occasions of people gaining weight on purpose or otherwise throwing weigh-ins, and people made them out to be heroes for it. Another peeve, though, was that some women weren't as overweight as usual. The three who made the final four all weighed under 150 pounds on campus, so the big surprise at the finale will be if they don't look exactly the same after weeks at home. The guy had started at 400, and lost 158, so he still weighed 242 even after a great twenty weeks. The grand prize goes to the person with the highest percentage of weight loss. In the final are two 149 pound sisters, and America votes between the (I think) 144 pound woman who was Biggest Loser on campus, and the guy who could end up losing half his body weight or more. I guess it will be interesting to see how the people who went home did.

I wasn't a big fan of the Castle finale. I ignore some of their science and things, but when I saw someone empty a clip at a helicopter above and a distance from them in New York City, I had to wonder where the bullets would end up if one missed. I imagine a 9 mm bullet arced into the air, from a roof top, could go what, two miles?

The Good Wife, on the other hand, totally kicked butt. I still have to watch NCIS, but I know from TV gossip people that someone dies, so why should I suffer all summer? I could just tune in next year, find out they're gone, and move on.But I won't.

I'm too stressed out over the Township, and having to try to get the woman to tell me contact info for her boss, and my Internet possibly shutting down Monday, and serious things possibly wrong with my car, to come up with anything else.

But Google finally gave me back "any language" in their News Search, so that part of my life is back to what I jokingly refer to as "normal".

2:29 p.m. - Wednesday, May. 18, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry