johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FBI yes, WADA no

***cricket sounds***

***tumbling tumbleweed***

Hah!

I ate a one dollar Michelina chicken fettucine dinner with a bit of probably too old processed ham torn up inside, then settled in for an hour of Master Chef. They spent ages on an apple slicing elimination contest, then switched to chicken dishes. Most of theirs looked better than my microwave one, and I did get sick a bit later. Good show, though.

The Voice was pretty decent. It would have been better if I was on Sam-e and they'd kept Raquel Castro instead of one of the bald ladies, but what are you gonna do? Also, a guy sang Sex On Fire, but skipped the guitar intro and when the drums came in, so I stopped listening to him. I could play the song fifty times in a row, and that opening music would make me feel good every time.

Fun times in the Lance investigation - the FBI showed up at the Aspen restaurant yesterday and told the owner they'kll be back today with a subpoena for the surveillance video. The owner claimed that the cameras in the dining room are "not functional", but the guys with the guns will actually check on that sort of thing, and haul people in to testify against the grand jury.

I woke up to that news, and also a positive step in Contador's situation. I've been going on about the 5 Mexican soccer players, and I think it's their story plus a lot of news about just how prevalent clenbuterol is in Mexican meat that has them thinking. Next week guys are going to get together in Montreal to discuss a minimum threshold for clenbuterol to be considered doping. The decision wouldn't be made until September, but they're finally getting their heads out of their bums, and it should help Contador. He was positive for one fortieth of the amount labs have to be able to identify - there are only four labs in the world where the alarm would have sounded, and his samples went to one of those instead of the place the others went.

There are eighteen days until the Tour de France. People, especially the French, have been coming out of the woodwork with polls and things saying Contador shouldn't race. Part of it is that the French (generalization alert) hate winners, especially ones trying to win their big race for the fourth time. I really hope that with soccer relations driving the bus, and the meeting next week, WADA & the UCI will cancel the CAS appeal and everyone will have to shut the hell up, or have it known that they're against him for other reasons.

I haven't been out in ages, so just made a pre-dawn drive to the bakery for a bit of comfort food & overpriced milk. I'm buzzing on icing right now.

I saw a preview for a Tom Hanks & Julia Roberts movie that looks kind of good. I'd love to get cleaned up and catch a few morning matinees with free popcorn next month.

6:42 a.m. - Wednesday, Jun. 15, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry