johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A stamp!

Happy Chinese New Year! I think I'll honor this one, as it's an excuse for a new start, and to believe things will get better.

Last night was a total dreamfest. I just kept cranking those babies out. In one, I had my old dream superpower back after a long drought - I could hover:) It's kind of like flying, but some times, like this one, I was upright and three feet above the ground. There are other versions where I've gotten above the tree tops and power lines. It all seems to only happen in my old home town. This time I was at the four-way stop (we only had the one, until control freaks took over the Town Council). I had just levitated, and was about to start some adventure, when I spun around and knew that Mrs. Albers, a buzz kill, could see me from the corner house. I stepped down, which was new, and moved on to the next of many dreams.

The CNY did get off to a good start, as I heard my kind of neighbor moving around in the beauty shop for the first time in days. I rushed over to buy a postage stamp so I could put my bank deposit out for the mailman in a form he couldn't refuse. I told her what had happened, and she said he'd rolled his eyes, and since been mad at her, because she once insisted he accept letters with money for postage. I had a short wait to see if he actually did his route today - a lot of Thursdays, he's not around. But he was today, so the bank will get it Friday, and Saturday I'll have money to spend when it warms up enough to make getting into my car worth the effort. I still need to walk my rent check up the hill, but I'm pacing myself.

He also delivered a bike tour catalog and a Netflix DVD of a film I'd never heard of. When I was watching Spartacus on Starz, they did a long promo for Camelot, an upcoming series. I Googled the name of the lead actress, and there was a photo of her topless, looking very nice, in some Italian film. That's what the postman brought, and how my Chinese New Year's Day will continue.

Note to the Universe - if you want me to watch your new TV shows, it helps if I've seen you topless and liked it. For more info, inquire within.

I did a quick Google of the painful purple toe thing. I'm gonna go with bad circulation and diabetic blood sugar being out of control, because, let's face it, I only have limited options in terms of treatment. If I had multiple gunshot wounds to the chest, I'd take two Aleve. For most other things, the best I can do is walk in the morning and try to clean up my food intake.

Watching the Egyptian protest yesterday was scary. Guys with pickaxes tore up pavement so that others could use the chunks to attack the other side. The pro-government faction targeted news people - CNN's Anderson Cooper was taping with a Flip recorder or something as guys chased them and threw punches at their heads. They couldn't fight back, or it would have been all over, and they couldn't run, because showing fear would make more people come after them. I really appreciate that there are people who could make comfortable livings inside news studios, and instead they're out getting punched in the head so the world has a picture of what's really going on.

10:10 a.m. - Thursday, Feb. 03, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry