johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The one where I faxed Spain

It looks like a good time for some changes. For one thing, the temperature today will be in the high 40's. It could stay above freezing for at least the next 5 days, so I know I'll have clear sidewalks and roads. I'll start my morning walks Sunday. The blue toe ends and sketchy back will make the walking even less comfortable than usual, but losing weight and getting fitter is the cure for both, if I start now.

The Contador decision is delayed until Monday or Tuesday. The politics have gotten worse than the day before an election. The lies of the cycling union spokesman against the Spanish cycling federation were repeated in Marca as well as AS. The Marca story had the e-mail address of the writer, so I tried to contact him. Once I'd taken the time to write up everything with links, I decided to try to contact the Spanish Federation while they could still put up a fight. The best option was a fax number. I've paid two bucks a page to fax things in America years ago. I don't want to know what four pages to Spain would go for. But I did a quick search and found a free online fax site. So this morning I was sat in a basement apartment in small town USA eating a grilled cheese sandwich, and I gathered two articles from Spain, an old article from Italy, an official press release from Switzerland, and it's all now sitting in a fax machine in Madrid, Spain. I sure hope they bother to read it. I mean, an e-mail is one thing. It's out there on the web with a bazillion pieces of spam. But knowing that my stuff is printed on paper inside the office of the people who need to see it feels like more.

Kim Clijsters won again, but I didn't think she'd be playing so early, so I only caught the end.

I decided not to eat the egg yolk that had baked inside a cake for forty minutes. I've got another 99 cent box mix I'll cook up today, because things need to get serious after one more sleep.

I'm going to dig up the old unopened envelopes from the food stamp people, wrap them in the e-mail they never responded to, and mail it to the return address on Monday. I think I'll add in copies of some documentation of income and things at the same time to get the ball rolling.

While I'm printing things and mailing, I'll also write up forms to get my $34 in taxes back from Missouri, and send forms and documentation to the student loan people I've neglected for so long. I wouldn't have had to pay them a dime anyway based on income, but it would be good for the mail and phone calls, especially from aggressive collection agencies that call family and neighbors, to stop while I'm not working. I'm also going to walk across the street to get forms asking the Township for assistance.

I figure that since the next two days will be stressful waiting time for me anyway, I might as well deal with everything unpleasant in my life at once, rather than mess up possible good days in the near future. If I get everything in the mail, and Contador is freed Monday or Tuesday to start racing, life will be positive, sunny and fifty degrees.

Darn those Fringe writers. I thought I was sitting through a wasted episode in the alternate universe I don't care about, and then thew threw in a maaaaaassive plot twist at the end. I may or may not have called them bastards.

Last night's episode of Spartacus should be buffered, so I'll forget pro cycling and focus on the violence and topless women.

11:50 a.m. - Saturday, Feb. 12, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry