johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bottom of the rock

Remember last Halloween when I went to the family dinner at my sister's house, and I was a bit chuffed with my weight loss and excited that I had tons of choices of shirts to wear?

As of Saturday morning, I had gained all but 2 of the pounds back. I was up 23 since New Year's Day, which means we should be able to page back through here and watch the joie de vivre, laissez les bon temps roulez, carpe diem just ooze off the page. But I'm not gonna look.

I guess that technically I hit rock bottom the other afternoon when I was lying face down in the cinders and gravel.

I'm also not going to flog you with me trying to lose that same 50 or so pounds I've already taken credit for, so the little ticker is back at the bottom of the page and I'll stay schtum diary wise. Starting...now!

Contador finished his first race, a five day one, this morning. He went 15th fastest in the Individual Time Trial, letting him finish fourth in the Overall. He'd won the event the last two years, so it wasn't a normal Contador start to the year, but six days ago the world thought he was going to be banned for a year, so he wasn't as prepared as usual. He got fourth on talent, not fitness. I now have ten or eleven days off as a cycling fan. Hopefully his next races will be on TV.

I watched some of the NBA All Star Saturday. What a sorry state of affairs that was. Watching a guy who's six foot two or so pull off some creative, athletic dunk on his first, or at least second, try is exciting and uplifting. Watching a guy who is six foot ten miss miserably five or six times before finally completing something mediocre is just tedious. And the announcers kept playing it up like it was Jesus and Moses out there doing things the world had never seen.

Let's take a minute and a half to appreciate what a five foot six guy did with a ball and a ten foot rim in the old days. It makes me marvel at what humans are capable of.

This week is all about food, with me adjusting to an Emergency Diet calorie count, and hoping for appointments to beg the government for food money. I have this dream of eating an orange and a banana on the same day I drink a glass of milk:-) I guess I'd best check my Powerball ticket from last night.

That really is it for my plans for the week. There wa a handy check in the mail from my sister Friday that turned into grocery money at the $5 off 25 on Saturday. I saved enough to buy gas for the drive to beg for food stamps. I might not get more than two feet past my front door this week.

11:32 a.m. - Sunday, Feb. 20, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry