johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chrome

Happy March! I managed to get my rent check in the mail and a deposit to the bank, so go Team Me!

My sleep is all over the place, in terms of when, not where it occurs, more's the pity. I got up at one this afternoon to get to the bank and make sure my deposit counts for today, because I wrote a check for groceries at the dollar store yesterday. But I have no clue when I'll go to bed next, or whether it will be physical tiredness or just boredom that sends me there.

In the past, I avoided using Chrome as a browser because it crashed all the time, and because I count on my Firefox add-ons and extensions. (I just typed "Netflix" there, because my brain is obviously back at the point where seven letter Internet names that end in x are obviously interchangeable, or rather my right hand doesn't give a blank what my brain actually thought).

Fresh paragraph. Anyway, once I did some searching, I found out that Chrome can do a few things that make me happy. Ninety-five percent of the Google News stories I see for Contador aren't in English. I usually have to click through, pull up a tab with Google Translate, copy & paste, etc. When I click through on Chrome, it asks on the top of the page if I want it translated, and now it's asked me if I want to skip the middleman and have it just always translate Spanish for me. Yes, please.

It's also got something called Mega Skipper. Megavideos are cool because they usually don't have to buffer. Some TV shows take forever to load on other sites. But Mega wants people to subscribe to their premium service, so they've got a 72 minute limit where they shut you down and make you wait for ages to continue. But now I just pull up a video at Mega, click my icon for Mega Skipper, and I watch away. It will be great for watching movies - I'd avoided them before because of the limit.

I kill a lot of time at Justin TV watching old episodes of Psych, but now I know them all too well, so I went looking and found a feed for the old Las Vegas TV show. That used to be my Friday night - many hot women and a couple of manly men. It's good for the old testosterone levels.

I woke up a bazillion times during the "night", but still managed a short dream that had me in a wheel chair just inside a hospital at night to get something checked out. One doctor came by and wanted to do surgery on some vital organ, and it shook me up, then another one came up & decided he wanted to do surgery around my lungs, and went off to set that up. I didn't think to tell him the other guy was already setting up for surgery. I sat there thinking that I had just come in to have something checked, and wondered if my surgery would be first come, first served, with the latecomer playing a game of Where's The Patient, or if the could do it all at once. I woke up before it was all sorted.

3:13 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry