johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

worst blizzard of the season

I imagine my Wednesday was a lot like yours. I got up at some time or another, and drank the last bit of grape juice. I killed some time debating over whether I should call the food pantry then or Thursday. I waited a few hours, cashed a check and went to Dairy Queen to satisfy an ice cream craving. I had a BOGO coupon for blizzards, so I got a banana split one, which was wonderful the last time, and a cookie dough one. The woman who made them had no skills. The banana split one was awful. I saw one tiny spot of red for strawberries, and nothing at all pineapple. I'd been short sleep, so I killed a few hours doing whatever it is I do, then went to bed. I got up, waited a while, then headed to the dollar store for food. When I was at the check out, a woman came up beside me in line. I just caught a glimpse of her, but I kind of sensed who she probably was. Let's go into flashback mode for a sec.

Years ago, I used to go to all of my college's home basketball games. On the first night of one season, I stepped into the gym entrance, handed my ticket to the student sat there to tear it in half, then looked up, past a bleacher full of fans, and a court busy with players running warm-up drills, and I saw her. The gym is bright anyway, but she was alone there against the far wall, and it looked like there was a spotlight on her straight from Heaven.She looked like an angel, too. She wasn't very tall, and her blondness would vary from day to day, but she was beautiful. And she noticed me, if not then, over the season. Let's call her Erin. She was working her way through school by waitressing at the restaurant across the street. Unfortunately, she had a co-worker, co-cheerleader (oops, I left that bit out) I'll call Camille. One snowy day I went to the restaurant for lunch. Camille was literally the only other person in the restaurant, so I chatted with her while I ate. In person, I used to be a nice, friendly guy who chatted with people. Unfortunately, women who didn't have a lot of guys being nice to them often read things into that, so one polite conversation with Camille about her Grandma's upcoming wedding was enough for her to take me out of play with her friend Erin, even though I had zero interest in pursuing Camille. It's pretty much the story of my life. Anyway, there was cheer sex with Erin any time the ball was on that end of the court. I'd sit different places on different nights. The last time I heard her voice was when she and her co-worker named Mike were in his car laughing out the window as they passed where I was walking. It was a hot sunny afternoon, and I guessed they were off to have Finals Week sex. The next time I saw her was a year or so later. I was walking up the street during one of the little local festivals. She was with her mother, pushing a baby carriage.

So that was my Ash Wednesday. Two disappointing Blizzards and a chance possible encounter with a former crush. I caught myself before I took a good look at her. She left in an oversized pick-up truck with her hubby (I'm guessing).

2:52 a.m. - Thursday, Mar. 03, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry