johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hopefully just a glitch

I guess today is a bit of a break from positive things moving forward.

We had a surprise snow yesterday that started right after my walk in the rain. Then it warmed up two degrees, rained a bunch and it was gone.

The meeting went okay. There were two separate conversations - her thinking I knew their system without being told, and me telling what life has been like and it going over her head. The main thing is I delivered documents, and she knows I'm not pulling anything. They supply $245 a month for assistance, but I'm not sure what form it takes. It seems like they pay some utility bills directly. My rent freaked her out. She was to mail my info up state and let her supervisor decide.

I felt lousy when I got up around midnight. The back of my right heel feels like it wants to detach a bit. Fencing shoes are clearly not made for walking on concrete, especially for a guy my size.

I was also feeling yuck because I'm out of milk and foods I bought myself, and down to third rate food pantry stuff. I pretty much had withdrawal symptoms around six this morning, and considered spending the rest of the day in bed.

Then my sister called for a Japan update, and said she was putting a small check in the mail today. I called her back and asked if I could pick it up, as I'd have to wait for it to clear, etc. We ended up meeting and her giving me cash, which meant I was able to buy a couple of lottery tickets for the big drawing. I went to Jack In the Box with a BOGO coupon, and got two sandwiches that didn't taste good to me.

I had a reply to my Polar e-mail today, asking what I wanted. I explained that I was supplying info requested by their twitter guy, and copied the conversation. Someone replied back that he'll send me another button. Considering that mine had broken off, and I can't tell if the whole piece was off or whatever, the odds of them sending me something I can pop on, and it will stay on and work great, seem pretty slim. The twitter guy had me send my serial number - what was the point of asking my band color when the problem was on the watch bit? Here I thought I was getting a free (discontinued) replacement, and had all this good will towards the company, and now I'll be getting a tiny piece of plastic and have no confidence the monitor will ever work again. Rule 1 - don't inflate someone's expectations and then under deliver.

I spotted some St. John's Wort in the cabinet yesterday. I thought I had used it all. I added it to the mix, and hope it's not the reason why I've felt down all day.

The one dream I remember from last night had a guy calling to do my food stamps interview over the phone. I guess he'd heard that it's dangerous to be in my dreams lately, so he didn't want to meet me in person?

Also failing today was the Mega Skipper add-on for Chrome. I'd been enjoying it so much - watching shows on Megavision for a change because there was no time limit. I started a new episode, and right in the middle of a conversation, the show stopped for a loud commercial for Martin in the freaking morning. It was horrible. I can watch shows at Hulu or the networks, and see a few commercials during the actual commercial break. If House is in a fancy hotel room, diagnosing a patient over the speaker phone while preparing to shoot an apple off the head of a hooker with a bow and arrow, that's not the right time to repeat the Martin ad. The same goes for during heart surgery. I left a couple of frustrated comments at the add-on page.

Oh well, my Internet viewing is the one area of my life where I'm truly resilient. I started out with links on a Swedish site to shows on Chinese ones, and it's been a roller coaster ride since then. Today I watched a bit of cycling on an Italian site, with Eurosport UK playing audio in the background.

But it has been a frustrating day, as things that had been going well took a step back.

The Walmart parking lot was too crowded for me, so I might make a wee hour of the morning healthy grocery run tonight. I think it's a safe bet that I went from pre-diabetic five years ago to full blown Type 2, so a lot of my issues lately probably have to do with blood sugar, rushes and crashes.
I'm giving tennis another shot this afternoon, hopefully watching Clijsters and Federer. By the way, I looked at the doubles draw last night, and Federer, Nadal and Djokovic were all listed. What the heck? Nadal, in particular, is a genius singles player, using different spins and shots from way outside the lines. I've seen him play Mixed in a couple of charity events, and the women had to carry him because his shots just don't translate to dubs. Hmmm.


Things will be brighter tomorrow.

11:33 a.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 15, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry