johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Zombie apocalypse

I've turned things around again since the last post, so the ship is pointed the right direction and just waiting for a tailwind. Or something.

In the "no news" category, I haven't heard from the food stamps people about an interview, and am probably a couple of days away from the Township call.

I'm still hoping the Polar guy on Twitter will come through for me, but yesterday and today seem to be his "weekend". Fingers crossed for tomorrow.

I think it's pretty much a given that I've gone from 2006 pre-diabetic to 2011 poster child. I did a bunch of searching yesterday. Some weeks ago Slickdeals had a link for a free blood glucose monitor. I had tried a number of times to apply online, but there was some issue and they told me to call. I didn't, because I haven't seen a doctor in years. Yesterday I saw that the link still worked, and it said they'll send me the monitor and 25 free strips. That should give me enough to diagnose myself, get some feedback about my reaction to sleep, food and exercise, and check for progress.

I'm still playing (poor) mad scientist on myself. I skipped the St. John's Wort when I got up just before midnight. I miss the RRS Plus, but my brain is getting fairly active. I drove to Walmart around one in the morning, and when I got back, I wrote down calories per serving, and servings per package, for everything I bought. Then I adjusted things so that everything will last about a week, and I can have a variety of little things that will total 1800 calories a day, hopefully without feeling denied.

I'm serious about the organizational part of my brain coming back to life. I've seen chunks of Zombieland a number of times. When it started on JTV today, and he gave the #1 rule for surviving in Zombieland, I wrote it down. I kept that up, and when it got to a part of the film I saw just the other day, I kept watching to make sure I got the rules. Here they are for your consideration.

#1 cardio

2 double tap - don't get all stingy with your bullets

3 beware of bathrooms

4 fasten your seatbelts�it's going to be a bumpy ride

7 travel light

16 limber up

17 don't be a hero (this changes)

22 when in doubt know your way out

31 check the back seat

32 enjoy the little things

Other life lessons from the film that weren't numbered rules:

Without other people around, you might as well be a zombie

You have to blow off steam to keep from losing what's left of your mind

The Sam-e continues to work, as I worked my way up to a few laughs during the movie. It also helped this morning when I read a story about a couple of pro cyclists, including one mega star, who had used top secret equipment no one knew about. They and their buddies all left their former team, and started a highly touted new one this year. As soon as the news hit, the head of the new team said that none of them are using that stuff this year, which was an odd denial, since the stuff seems to be legal. Anyway, the stories and video kind of let the world know that the guy is maybe not so genetically gifted, but a really good shopper. Other guys can now buy the same stuff and level the playing field. I smiled and smiled and quite possible beamed.

Mega Millions is up to $200 million for Friday night, and I have money for a ticket.

I'm not sure why, but I've been excited for Sucker Punch since the first preview months ago. If I get some good news about assistance this week, I'll treat myself to a $5 movie on the 25th.

10:24 a.m. - Wednesday, Mar. 16, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry