johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

reaching out

I was counting on a stress-free morning, but the phone company sent me an e-mail because I owe them $150. I can't do anything about it until Friday morning, except hope they don't turn me off in the meantime.

I got a formal letter about my Food Stamps. I hope it was just worded funnily in bureaucrat - speak or something, and I have more money coming for the weekend as promised. I still need a big economy sized bag of blueberries to go with oatmeal, plus olive oil and walnuts. I'm making my food intake more clean every day.

I made half of my dishes more clean as well. I boiled water and soaked and washed the Purex stuff I use in the microwave, and glasses, cups, bowls and saucers, plus a couple of big knives and things. It's a start.

I am working to undo past things and improve life from the way it was at the end of last year. I still have some major baggage to deal with. I've avoided the landlord and his wife since a couple of years ago when I was deep in depression, went out to the mailbox, and found a letter threatening me with eviction (because they deposited my rent check and forgot they'd received it). Since then I've avoided things like taking out the trash during the day, in case he's out by his garage, and going for books and chats with library worker friends, because the landlady works with a view of my door and the whole walk, and her area has an adjoining door with the library and they share a water cooler.

The last time I spoke with the landlord, he was at the door telling me that my car needs to move from space to space, which ended up with me getting a warning ticket from a State Trooper, and paying five weeks of Unemployment Benefits on car repairs.

The last time I spoke with the landlady, she was out putting threatening notes under the windshield wipers of people who dared to park in the vacant lot (when all businesses were closed) so they could attend a play across the street. She also tried to convince me to park my car on the edge near the back of the redneck bar so that guys couldn't drive their pick-up trucks across her rocks.

I obviously need to make some changes so that I'm comfortable out in my whole neighborhood when the nice weather comes.

My former Irish cycling journo twitter pal is being the most aggressive anti-Contador journalist out there. Glad I locked my twitter and removed him from following again. He's trying to conjure up news, and he can find his own damned articles to twist, thank you very much.

I decided the other day to "follow" three female cycling fans I used to interact with. They've kept coming back to follow me, even after I've deleted everyone multiple times since July. They've now each stepped up and started conversations, one about her job with a cycling travel company, one about tennis matches, and one to commend me for the comments I left at the Irish guy's article. It's time to expand my social interactions again.

Off to make my fourth meal of the day before the Serbs play tennis. It's well into the Miami tournament, and there are 4 Serbs, plus Serbian born German Petkovic, playing on Stadium Court today.

1:02 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 29, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry