johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

one more worry then I'm done

That's one less thing to worry about. My checking account behaved, and I wasn't hit with a massive fee for paying the most urgent part of my phone bill. I used my debit card at the ATM, first time in a year I've been able to get cash without writing a check. While there was money in my account, I took the card to the BP station to see how it handles a payment at the pump. I wanted to make sure they don't put a $200 hold on accounts when you buy $5 gas, like the one in the next town over. That worked out. I boxed up my Polar F11 and sent it on it's merry way, insuring it for a chance that it will turn into a brand new one, or more likely, an air mattress and a bunch of supplements. I continued the gambling with a Powerball ticket.

I ordered two bottles of MAF on the cheap through Amazon Marketplace. It's a risk, but I'm all about saving money right now.

Still no Food Stamp money. Tomorrow is the third, when I was told to expect it, but it's also Sunday, so I'm postponing my hopes and extending the stress to Monday morning. If it's not there then, things implode.

You might recall that I wasn't impressed weeks ago with the first half of the Camelot pilot. I don't know if it's the Sam-e, or the food, or that I had time to adjust expectations, but I found a feed for the full episode last night, and I liked it a lot. On the small screen I had mistaken which woman got killed early on, and was glad to see it wasn't the one I liked, as I had thought. They did an awesome job with the sword in the stone, and I really want to visit Wales again after seeing the scenery. They also have a penchant for making blond women topless for their first appearance, so Friday night is a good testosterone night even without Spartacus. Check out Guinevere:

Tennis has been kind of a bust. Rafa clobbered Federer. Hopefully he'll be that strong against an undefeated Djokovic Sunday.

The women's final was a fail. TV coverage has started at noon every single day, so naturally they started today half an hour early without telling me. So I got there late, and it was the two noisiest women on tour grunting at each other. I couldn't take it, especially with the short attention span I revert to when I'm out of MAF.

This was the two year anniversary of the start of my comeback as a tennis fan. It ended the same way, with Vika winning the final.

I read a review for Super. I kind of groaned at all the details - druggies, a superhero with a wrench, another alter ego I can't relate to. But then I remembered Kickass, a movie made up of things I totally can't stand, and how entertaining it was. The critic gushed about Ellen Page, so I did some searching, and I think this character might be enough to get me to the theater.

That's it for the weekend. I hope there's new food tomorrow, because I'm fighting the urge to blow money on the new stuffed crust pizza with meat in it. I've got cash and my debit card to negotiate down to something in the local fast food range, but I really don't want to spend a dime on food that could go to something else. There's still a lot of food in the apartment, and I just ate pancakes, but the variety is down and this is a conditioned craving that's more mental and physical than a normal desire for pizza.

Maybe two hours of tennis, some cycling if I happen to wake up early, and I'm out of activities until Monday.

2:33 p.m. - Saturday, Apr. 02, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry