johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

medicinal pepperoni

No food Stamp money today, so I'm REALLY stressed about whether it will hit tomorrow, or whether my case worker led me down the primrose path (just kidding - there are no primroses, or anything else flowery, in the East St. Louis Department Of Human Services), and I'll have to fight for the money again, or do without for two weeks, possibly for a lesser amount than promised. I hope it just shows up, but his "it might show up early the first month" ruined it for me.

The grocery pickings are pretty slim, and I had to once again battle the delivery pizza idea - thank goodness I had cash on hand. So my cash-bought food for the day consists of a Snickers, a tiny bag of Cheetos (one of the 3/$1 ones) and a pepperoni pizza. The dollar store thoughtfully marked the price on the shelf at $3.25, which of course rang up as $4.50, because that's how they roll these days. I busted them politely and got the extra money back, without a word of explanation or apology.

I watched some cycling from Belgium this morning. I liked the eighteen steep climbs, but I like to imagine myself riding the same places I watch, and I just wouldn't ride up 20% inclines on cobblestones without a following car filled with wheels and tires. The race worked out, though, as two guys pipped the one I was rooting against at the finish line.

I already have a feed open for the Nadal/Djokovic match so I don't get tricked like yesterday. It can't be a real classic without being best of five sets, but I hope both guys are at their best.

Time to fire up the pizza to settle the physical cravings brought on by my situation and past behavior. I guess it will settle me down in the same way that it makes me sleep.

Here's a photo from today of Alberto with his dog Tour. I saw a video once of the talk show where the host gave him the puppy. Doesn't he seem like sort of a down to Earth guy, rather than a massive doping story for .0000000005 grams of clenbuterol?

11:41 a.m. - Sunday, Apr. 03, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry