johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Things are getting better\" President Starkey

Today's Giro d'Italia screen print of the day is from the finish city of Orvieto. Towns pay big money to have a race stop and/or start there, bringing in tourists and all the people connected with the race. Once guys cross the finish line, there's time while the winners are sorted and preparations are made for jersey ceremonies, so the helicopters hover around showing what a great place it would be to visit.

Things are better. The back of my busted up twenty dollar love seat doesn't offer a level, secure surface. Since the back leg of the "good" side broke the other day, more of my weight goes against the back. As I moved around yesterday afternoon, I could feel the tight, possible rotated disc in my back start to loosen a bit. I was rearranging myself on what I jokingly call a bed - (the back of a busted $100 recliner under my legs, and a futon cushion from Hell under my upper body) - this morning. I was on my back, and I propped myself up on my elbows to move my body over, and felt and heard three little spots in my back release. I knew immediately that it was a good thing, and that a couple of months of suffering were over. I also expected that the worst of my breathing issues would be gone with it, and that's been the case.

I need to start changing things up to protect my back a bit. I still have the desk chair with two of the five wheels busted off. The seat and back are still in decent shape there, so I'll clean it up and figure out some way to use it for at least part of the day. I also need to start messing around with the heavy duty exercise ball I got for Christmas.

Whenever I woke up during the night, I checked the air flow, and there wasn't much going on. FedEx just dropped off my new mask, so I'll shave, wash my face, and take that for a test run. Then Thursday morning I'll take myself out for a test walk, with higher expectations.

It was an exciting day at the Giro today. One guy took off and rode by himself for maybe a hundred miles. There were three long patches of white rock, with some decent climbs, so people got spread out, and attacked or got dropped, and the cameras couldn't get in and show where everyone was. At the end, I was relieved to see Contador there with the other favorites at the end. It wasn't a day where he would try something, but one where he could have lost time due to flats or crashes or broken chains like some other guys had.

The Voice wasn't quite as good last night. I don't care for the part where they have two teammates share a song, with one going home.

I'm going to watch NCIS and The Good Wife before doing the sleep thing. When I wake up, I'll start making my life a better place.

12:30 p.m. - Wednesday, May. 11, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry