johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What's next?

Saturday evening I ended up at a JTV site showing Season One of The West Wing. He took a break from 9:00 to 11:00, but I stayed up & watched the great early episodes of Season Two. I teared up a few times. The series was that good.

Around five or so, I headed to bed for a nap so I'd be alert during my last stage of cycling. The alarm went off, and I decided I didn't need to watch the last-place guys ride their Time Trials. A couple of hours later, I decided that I didn't need to watch the last day, and stayed in bed until afternoon.

I left a few last comments and forum posts defending Contador against some attacks. Cycling Weekly continues to be head and shoulders above the crowd in terms of sleaziness. I said goodbye to my twitter followers. I don't want to watch the guys in the big June races, or the Tour de France. If Alberto gets cleared by CAS, and decides to ride the three week Vuelta in August, I'll come back from a twelve week break to watch history.

I've tried to cut electricity use the past couple of months. I already sit in the dark, but started unplugging the microwave & toaster oven after use, and powering off the surge protector for the computer at night. Yesterday I noticed that the aquarium heater had flashed on, so I went to unplug that for summer. Unfortunately, I had the wrong cord, and unplugged the water circulation thingy instead. I decided to go ahead and give that a good cleaning, even though I didn't have a replacement filter. It's the kind of thing I decide to do when I've had two servings of FRS Plus.

Now I can't get it to work again. The motor makes noise, and gets hot, but it doesn't move water. I was stressed about that last night and today, and tried multiple manipulations, and prayer. I'd hate to lose the three fish, which are getting old for their species, because I'm poor. They've already been getting by on dollar store food and a floor lamp substituting for the aquarium bulb.

I just ate the last of the pizza.

Tomorrow I'm going to start walking again, remembering, and having documentation of, my early attempts last June when my hot Internet crush started what was to be her summer of self-improvement. I don't know what my weight was then - actually I could figure it close by checking the driver's license I got mid-June. I'm probably heavier now, but I also have new shoes, and shoes were a real issue in my brief training notes.

I guess it's a big week. Tuesday I'll call the car repair place & ask them to send the dude with the flatbed to get it. Friday I get more Food Stamps, a huge deal after all the days of Tuna Helper, and eating only what's available in this small town. In between, I guess I'll accept that however it was or wasn't handled, the Township won't be coming to my rescue. I won't be sleeping on a mattress, or taking Sam-e to avoid despair. I won't have late night swimming pool workouts at the gym, or long hot showers.

Right now I really would settle for having water circulate in the aquarium.

Have a great holiday Monday.

6:39 p.m. - Sunday, May. 29, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry