johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The stuff I write here is not meant for my relatives

4:05 A.M. I've been up all night & am sat waiting for Ladies Legend Doubles to start. I still haven't watched tennis, even when there were hottish women playing each other.

I have watched entirely too many episodes of The West Wing, and when that feed stopped earlier, I switched to The Mentalist.

I happened across two days of Britain's Got Talent, and even sat through one of America's while waiting for The Voice to come on. The parrot was good. It's weird seeing Piers Morgan in ours and The Hof on theirs.

My brother-in-law who was recovering from the eye surgery has been in the hospital for other stuff since Monday. He seems to be doing okay now. But I know he and my sister are taking a beating, and I daydreamed about winning the lottery and going to bail them out, but I haven't had a car to drive in eleven days so I can't even buy a ticket.

The tow truck came for my car Tuesday morning, but they didn't call to say it was fixed until right before closing time, so I still don't have it. The seemingly good news is that it was a seventeen dollar broken brake line. The bad news is that they had to remove my gas tank to get to it, and labor plus the tow came to four hundred bucks. They're already writing me an estimate for new front and rear brakes:(

Some times it seems like my sister is getting info from here, or that the tossers at the Township contacted her about my letter. Anyway, the other day she asked me the mattress question, and I told her I've been quite some time without one. She insisted I order one, which I did, but Amazon is dawdling. I got one of the double ones again, but this time I'm putting the flocked or whatever surface to the bottom, and the smooth side up so that if if gets a pinhole leak. it will be somewhere that might actually hold glue & a patch.

I mailed my bank deposit instead of taking the chance I'd be stranded at the bottom of the big hill for the rest of my life. I remembered the key things that got me out the door a year ago with the web crush inspiration. One was that I had a very nice pic of her as my wall paper, so I'd see it various times throughout the day. The other was that I daydreamed about meeting her one day, and wanted to get fit for that.

Maybe once I get a mattress and can sleep for more than ten minutes at a time, I'll be able to think of something. Sadly, the ten minute thing isn't an exaggeration.

I'm still on the fringe of the cycling thing. Contador might be racing the Tour de France, to the annoyance of a lot of people vocal on the Interwebs, and he'd possibly be writing history. After all the months of Hell we fans have suffered, I'd like to watch him, but all the guys I can't stand will spend way too much time on the video feed. One guy spent the winter calling himself the obvious favorite to win the Tour, then racing started and he was pants for months, and now after two days of training in the Alps he says he's right where he wants to be and will be 100% for the Tour. He got clobbered up damned Mount Baldy by some guys in their very late thirties, and at the one week races in the Spring, no one gave him a chance to win anything. Now there's to be some sort of miracle and in July he'll be one of the top two guys in the world, and people will pretend there's a believable reason for that. He's also one of the guys whose team kicked out of the three week Spanish race last September for coming in plastered at five in the morning. Then he lied about it repeatedly, tried to make his boss look bad in the press, knowing that managers have to protect the privacy of their employees, even the bad ones.

Alberto is taking two weeks to recover from the Giro, and then he'll test lactic acid, and how fast he can do a certain climb, and his power numbers, before he decides about the race. I hope he doesn't do it, and then gets cleared by CAS in August and races the Vuelta for the win. That gets me twelve weeks of ignoring everything about the sport I don't like.

The tennis has been going half an hour. I can hear it, as usual. I guess I'll pretend to watch it for a bit. I hope to get my car at 8:00, then get some sleep, because my Food Stamps hit after midnight tonight, and I really need some decent groceries.

Oh - the aquarium filtration never started working again, and it would cost big money to get replacement parts to save my three $2.95 catfish. I feel lousy about it, even though they were only meant to get five years old or so (fully mature, they're the size of my smaller fingers). Anyway, that's a symptom of the kind of week I've had.

I'll get that lottery ticket tomorrow.

4:44 a.m. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry