johnguinness's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

save the fish

Things have gotten close to normal again. I was pulling an all-nighter because I expected to pick up my car at 8:00, and my sister was to call at 7:00. At 5:00 I gave up & headed to a very uncomfortable bed for a bit. I eventually managed a few minutes of sleep.

I've now got the car back home. They gave me estimates (against my will) for back brakes ($700+) and front ones ($200+). I'm past due for the new timing belt and things they recommended last time. Oh well.

I decided during the night that when I got the car, I'd head over to Petsmart & see if I could get one of those little aeration set-ups that came with my first two gallon aquarium. They ended up having a bunch of different sized pumps. I've got a 15 gallon tank, and my new pump is good for up to 20, so I'm looking at more than temporary life support. I had to get the hose, and the anti-siphon thing, and the stone to hold the hose in place and make the air bubbles. I got a small bottle of what's meant to be tasty food flakes. All told I went in for $24 that I could have definitely used elsewhere, like on gas, or Sam-e, or whatever. But I like my little catfish. My blinds have to be closed all the time or people can see me from a few feet away, so for days at a time, the only live things I see are my fish swimming around. I really hope the past few days haven't damaged them, and the oxygen and good food will have them as active as before.

There are pro cycling "fans" on Twitter that are kind of like forum people gone wild, because they can send rude messages to people instead of gathering under a bridge to talk trash about them. I won't tell you the latest Lance rumor one dug u, but if it's true, it has to do with falsifying something about his old medical condition, and it would make the whole scam of his career even bigger, and more pre-meditated, than I dreamed of (not that I dream of stuff like that). I mean, it's huge (and small) and easy to verify.

I don't seem to have eaten lately, as in not since I had yet another pizza delivered yesterday after I wasn't able to get my car before closing. I've given myself permission to not beat myself up over wasting the money multiple times, because it's been way more stressful than usual, and I couldn't even run out and buy a Snickers or something.

My plan is to keep my eyes pried open for Britain's Got Talent, then to sleep until midnight when my Food Stamp money hits. I'll make a desperately overdue food run to Walmart, then force myself out for a first short walk before eating some treat I buy myself, then settling in for a John McEnroe doubles match (still a doubles genius), then two killer men's semis. Seriously, you've got the top four guys in the world, with Rafa being a clay court stud, and Novak with the big winning streak.

Streak looks like steak, and I think there's one of the 2-3 ounce ones left in the freezer, so I guess a sandwich is in order.

12:12 p.m. - Thursday, Jun. 02, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

Started Thursday 3/17/2011

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry